Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Creating Websites

Learn to create websites using Google Sites

Preview

Select the Preview icon at the top of the page to preview your site.

Preview a website in Google SItes

You can browse through your site to make sure everything looks right before publishing. Google Sites is designed to be responsive which means it can be viewed on phones, tablets or laptop/desktop computers. If you would like to see what your site will look like on the different devices, select those options from the Preview selection bar. When you are done previewing your site click the X to close the preview and return to the editor.

Responsive preview options

Publish

To publish your site, select the Publish button at the top right.

Publish button in Google Sites

If you have not published your site before, you will be prompted to name your site. If you are publishing using your Trinity account your website will be named https://sites.google.com/trinity.edu/your-website-name  where your-website-name will be the name you give your site. If the name you choose is too short or has already been taken, you will be prompted to choose a different name that is not already in use by another user on the system.

If you are using a traditional Gmail account, your address will be in the form https://sites.googe.com/view/your-website-name.

You can also choose how you would like to share your site. To control how the site is shared, click on the MANAGE button below Who can view my site.

Manage who can view my site

You can choose to publish and share the site with everyone (Public), with people just at Trinity (Trinity University T-mail), or with a select group of people (Restricted). You can change this at any time, even after the site has been published.

Change who can view the published site

If you have already published your site and you want to make changes to it, you will need to click the Publish button again for your changes to be made public. If you are working in a group or class site, the owner or professor will publish the changes for you.  Your changes will be saved in edit mode as indicated by the All changes saved in Drive statement appearing at the top of the page and you do not need to click the Publish button to save your work.

The new review changes and Publish option which is now the default for publishing a site, allows you to preview the changes made between the previous version and the new version. You will be able to review a list of changes made to the site with a side by side view of the draft version and the published version so you can compare changes before publishing. If you need to make changes to the draft, return to the editor and make the changes before publishing.

To approve the changes and proceed with publishing, click the Publish button from this screen.

Side by side comparison of the draft and published versions in Google Sites