Reference Policy (Including Remote Reference Requests):
Use of Trinity University’s Special Collections and Archives is open to everyone and an appointment is not required unless it is outside of our normal open hours. We encourage all interested parties to visit and use the collection. Materials do not circulate, but can be used in the Special Collections and Archives reading room. Some material may be restricted. We are happy to help with any reference questions. For remote reference requests, staff can spend up to one hour working on your reference request. For remote reference questions that will require more than one hour of research, we recommend that you come in person or hire an independent researcher. Please let us know if you have any questions by contacting us at archives@trinity.edu or 210-999-7355.
Other Policies:
Our team provides reproduction services of material housed within Special Collections and Archives. Reproduction fees support the ongoing care of archival collections and rare books. Reproduction services are provided free of charge to Trinity students, faculty, staff, and administration, but requests are subject to limitations.
| Type | Fees - Outside Patrons | Fees - Trinity students, faculty, staff, administration |
|---|---|---|
| Remote reference (low resolution scan or phone capture) | Free up to 10 captures per patron; $1 each after that. | Free - subject to limitation |
| Low resolution scan of text documents (pdf - 150dpi) | Free up to 10 pages or items per patron; $1 each after that. | Free - subject to limitation |
| Retrieval of high resolution image scan (tif/jpg) | $5 each | Free - subject to limitation |
| Creation of new high resolution image scan (tif/jpg) | $15 each | Free - subject to limitation |
| Large requests (at the discretion of library staff) | $50 per hour | Please discuss request with SCA staff |
To request reproductions, please fill out the Duplication Order Form and submit it to archives@trinity.edu.