Distinctive Collections
Special Collections and Archives is home to many distinctive collections. While much of our material can be searched via the library catalog or our finding aid database, some multi-format collections of note are described here.
Lucia Valentine Collection of Anne Morrow Lindbergh Materials
Anne Morrow Lindbergh (1906-2001) was an American writer and aviator, best known for her book Gift from the Sea (1955). She was the wife of Charles Lindbergh, and made many flights alongside him. This collection of materials was assembled by close friend Lucia Valentine (1902-1992).
- Finding Aid to the Valentine CollectionDescriptive inventory for the non-monograph material in the Lucia Valentine Collection of Anne Morrow Lindbergh Materials.
- Valentine Collection BibliographyDescriptive bibliography of the monographs in the Lucia Valentine Collection of Anne Morrow Lindbergh Materials.
Malcolm Lowry Collection
Malcolm Lowry (1909-1957) was a British poet and novelist, best known for his novel Under the Volcano. In 1983 the library purchased a complete collection of all known editions of Lowry's work to that date, ranging from first editions to foreign language translations. The collection also contains periodicals with Lowry's work, books about Lowry, and material related to film and television adaptations of his work.
- Finding Aid to the Malcolm Lowry CollectionDescriptive inventory for the non-monograph material in the Malcolm Lowry Collection.
- Malcolm Lowry BibliographyDescriptive bibliography of the monographs and periodicals in the Malcolm Lowry Collection.
Logan Pearsall Smith Collection
Logan Pearsall Smith (1865-1946) was a prolific British-American essayist and scholar, and associate of the Bloomsbury Group. The library has two collections of material related to Smith: an archival collection, and a collection of rare books.
- Finding Aid to the Logan Pearsall Smith PapersDescriptive inventory for the correspondence and manuscripts in the Logan Pearsall Smith Papers.
- Logan Pearsall Smith BibliographyDescriptive bibliography of the Logan Pearsall Smith rare book collection, donated by George P. Isbell.