Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives

A guide to the Special Collections and Archives located in Coates Library.

Welcome!

The Special Collections and Archives (SCA) division of Coates Library collects, organizes, preserves, and makes available rare books, manuscripts, other special collections, and archival material to the Trinity community and researchers at large. SCA documents the history of Trinity University and plays a central role in managing its institutional records.

This LibGuide provides tutorials for using Special Collections & Archives resources, frequently requested information about Trinity University's history, and topical guides to materials in SCA. For more information about Special Collections & Archives, including access to our catalog, please visit our homepage

Schedule a Visit

Special Collections & Archives is open for walk-in research appointments Monday through Wednesday, 12pm to 4pm. Morning appointments are available upon request, by emailing archives@trinity.edu

We strongly recommend scheduling your visit to Special Collections & Archives. This allows us to retrieve the requested material in anticipation of your arrival for the most efficient use of your time. 

Schedule your reading room visit at this link

Our staff is also available for one-on-one appointments to help you with every step of the research process: 

Click here to schedule a research consultation with the university archivist for assistance with university history research or records management. 

Click here to schedule a research consultation with the special collections librarian for assistance with rare books and non-Trinity archival sources.