Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and Archives

A guide to the Special Collections and Archives located in Coates Library.

Introduction

Coates Library Digital Collections

The Coates Library Digital Collections provide online access to selected resources from the Special Collections and University Archives, including extensive materials from Trinity University's history. These materials reflect the broad range of subjects in our physical holdings, ranging from medieval manuscripts to modern day San Antonio social movements. Collections are presented in a variety of formats, including photographs, art, text, video, and audio. 

Searching the Digital Collections

From the digital collections homepage, all of the materials can be keyword searched from the top of page menu. Click "Advanced Search" for more options. Please note that this is the search bar on the digital collections page; the search bar on library homepage and this LibGuide will not search the contents of the digital collections. 

Screen capture of digital collections menu bar, with search bar indicated by an arrow

 

Search results can be limited by collection, subject, creator, date, and format using the facet boxes on the left side of the results page. You can also change the sort order. 

Screen capture highlighting search result page features

Downloading Images

Many items in the Coates Library Digital Collections are in the public domain, meaning that they are free of any copyright restrictions. For other items, Trinity University is the owner of the copyright, and has made these items available for noncommercial educational and scholarly purposes. The specific copyright status of each item is described in the descriptive metadata below the image. Please contact Special Collections & Archives with any specific questions. 

To download an item for personal or scholarly use, click on the "download" button on the right side of the screen: 

Screen capture indicating location of the download button

Viewing Multipage Documents

A page-flip viewer is now available to improve the readability of multipage documents. To open the page-flip viewer, click on the open book icon on the right side of the screen: 

Screen capture indicating page flip viewer button

 

Some items have not yet been optimized for page-flip viewing. For these items, we recommend switching to the single-page setting in the page-flip viewer, indicated here: 

Screen capture indicating single page setting