Special Collections Librarian
Colleen Hoelscher
Contact:
Coates Library 100H
Schedule an appointment!
Schedule an appointment!
Subjects: Museum Studies, Special Collections and Archives
University Archivist and Records Management
Visiting the University Archives
Special Collections & Archives houses library materials which are especially valuable or fragile, and serves as the repository for the Trinity University Archives. Our collections include many documents and photographs related to Trinity athletics history.
The Special Collections & Archives reading room is currently closed. To schedule an appointment to use material in our holdings, please email archives@trinity.edu.
Digitized Trinitonian, Mirage, and Course of Study Bulletins
You will likely need to consult the digitized archive of the Trinitonian and Mirage during your research. This database is keyword searchable, or you can browse by a specific date.
- Digital Trinitonian, Mirage, and Course of Study BulletinsThis site contains the digitized versions of the Trinitonian (1919-present), Mirage (1912-1916, 1919-1942, 1944-present), Course of Study Bulletins (1869-present), and On Trinity Hill (1964-1986).
- Guide to Searching the Digital Trinitonian and MirageA detailed guide to searching, browsing, and downloading results from the digitized Trinitonian, Mirage, and Course of Study Bulletins.
Trinity University Historical Images
- Historical Images ArchiveThe historic images in the collection range in date throughout the University’s first 100 years and are divided into 4 subject categories (based on the University’s geographic location): the Tehuacana Images (1869-1902), the Waxahachie Images (1902-1942), the Woodlawn: San Antonio Images (1942-1952), and the Skyline Campus: San Antonio Images (mid 1950s-present).
- Guide to Exploring the Digital CollectionsA detailed guide to searching, viewing, and downloading items in the library's Digital Collections.
Oral Histories
- Trinity University Women's Intercollegiate Athletics Oral History ProjectThe Trinity University Women’s Intercollegiate Athletics Oral History Project was developed to gain experiences and perspectives into the defining years of women’s athletics on campus. Focusing on the 1970s, 1980s, and 1990s, the project has been able to document incredible insights into the formation of the program under Title IX, the value and benefits of Division III athletics, and the lasting impact coaches and administrators have made on these athletes; none of which was evident in the historical documentation of Trinity University.
- The Playing FieldA Trinity University Mellon Initiative Summer Institute team designed four exhibits to shed light on Trinity women athletes: first, a directory of intercollegiate teams involving women between the 1960s and 2000; second, a timeline of major events in women’s athletics at Trinity; third, an exploration of the changes in inequities between male and female athletes over the second half of the 20th century; and finally, an exhibit on the impacts of Division III and Title IX on women athletes and their athletic involvement.
Texas Primary Sources
- San Antonio Express-News (1867-present) This link opens in a new window
It offers a uniquely Lone Star perspective on local, state, national, and international news.
- Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new windowTrinity's subscription to NewspaperArchive includes the San Antonio Register (the city's African American newspaper) and the San Antonio Light.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times & Washington Post This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times and Washington Post; the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
- Portal to Texas HistoryContains a wide range of digitized materials related to Texas history, including other universities' papers, newspaper clippings, images, etc.
- UTSA Special CollectionsUTSA Special Collections has a large collection of digitized archival materials documenting area history, including photographs, archival documents, and oral histories.
- Sports IllustratedTrinity has many issues of Sports Illustrated from the 1950s-present. Some are in print form in the bound journal area (1st floor) and others are in microform. These resources are available in-person only.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowHistorical newspaper database, including the Dallas Morning News, Houston Chronicle and the Austin American Statesman.