MAS Trinity Summer Research

Welcome to the MAS Summer Research resource guide.  Listed in this guide is information on primary and secondary source material.  Additionally, guides have been pulled together to help you get started in creating a digital exhibit. Please also visit Getting Started with Archival Research and Developing an Oral History Project in preparation for this summer.

• Coates Library Special Collections & Archives

  Special Collections & Archives is located on the second floor of Coates Library. We are open Monday to Wednesday, from 12pm-4pm, or by appointment. We recommend emailing us with information about your research topic before your visit, so that we can ensure the most efficient use of your time. Appointments or research inquiries can be made by emailing archives@trinity.edu.

• UTSA Special Collections

  UTSA has the largest collection of local history materials, including photographs, personal papers, business records, and oral histories.

• SAPL Texana & Genealogy Department

  The Texana & Genealogy Department at San Antonio Public Library's Central Branch collects material related to local history, with a particular emphasis on genealogical research. They are not open to the public at this time, but are available to assist via email.

Trinity Resources

• Digitized Campus Publications

  This site contains the digitized versions of the Trinitonian newspaper (1919-1943 and 1959-present), Mirage yearbook (1912-1916, 1919-1942, 1944-1978, 1980-present), Course of Study Bulletins (1869-present), and On Trinity Hill daily newsbulletin (1964-1972).

  • Tutorial for Searching Preservica

    This tutorial will guide you through searching or browsing the digitized campus publications linked above.

• Trinity University Historical Images
  The historic images in the collection range in date throughout the University’s first 150 years.

Newspapers

• San Antonio Express-News (1867-present) 
  The searchable San Antonio Express-News database includes all issues from 1897 to the present day.
   
• Newspaper Archive 

  Digitized historic newspapers from across Texas, including the San Antonio Light and the San Antonio Register.

• Texas Digital Newspapers Program

  A part of the Portal to Texas History, the Texas Digital Newspapers Program contains digitized and searchable issues from over 1600 different historical newspapers.

• Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
  Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1770-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Digitized material from collections

• Portal to Texas History
  Hundreds of years of Texas' cultural heritage exist in the physical holdings of communities across the state. The Portal seeks to digitize originals, preserving and presenting online copies for the long-term.