Encyclopedias and Commentaries
Encyclopedia of Religion - eBook by Call Number: REF BL 31 .E46 2005ISBN: 9780028659978Publication Date: 2005-03-0115 volumes in our reference collection; be sure to use the index volume to find all relevant articles, if you're using the print, or look at the other index entries at the end of each article, if you're using the online version.
Encyclopaedia Judaica - eBook by ISBN: 9780028660974Publication Date: 2006-12-01Coverage of Jewish history and culture since the Second Temple period, thus providing a useful and different perspective on people, places, and ideas of the early Christian era.
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity - eBook by Call Number: REF BR162.2 .E53 1990ISBN: 9781136611575Publication Date: 2013-10-08
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible - eBook by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780195377378Publication Date: 2011-11-18
The NRSV Concordance Unabridged by Call Number: REF BS 425 .K645 1991ISBN: 0310539102Publication Date: 1991-05-01A more thorough way to look up each occurrence of a word that is used in this particular English translation of the Bible, helping you to locate pertinent texts and observe a range of the word's uses
The Oxford Bible Commentary by Call Number: REF BS 491.3 .O94 2001ISBN: 0198755007Publication Date: 2001-12-06
Eerdmans Commentary on the Bible by Call Number: REF BS 491.3 .E37 2003ISBN: 0802837115Publication Date: 2003-11-19
The Women's Bible Commentary by Call Number: REF BS 491.2 .W66 1992ISBN: 0664219225Publication Date: 1992-01-01
The New Jerome Biblical Commentary by Call Number: REF BS 491.2 J47 1990ISBN: 0136149340Publication Date: 1989-09-01
The New Interpreter's Bible by Call Number: REF BS 491.2 N484 1994 (12 vols.)ISBN: 0687278147Publication Date: 1994-09-01
Fortress Commentary on the Bible by ISBN: 9781451489705Publication Date: 2014-10-01E-book version of a two-volume Bible commentary with contributions from 75 major scholars.
The IVP Bible Background Commentary - New Testament by Call Number: REF BS 2341.2 .K445 1993ISBN: 0830814051Publication Date: 1993-12-30
Best Bets
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible REF BS440 .N445 2006
Anchor Bible Dictionary REF BS 440 A54 1992
Both of these dictionaries will frequently have quite detailed articles on key texts, themes, names, etc., as well as brief bibliographies of important scholarly studies on the topics. Perspectives of the authors vary, but tend to fall into more "mainline church"/liberal to middle of the road views.
Oxford Biblical Studies Online
Provides cross-searching of a sizeable number of Oxford reference titles on the Bible, including commentaries, concordances, and several English translations; an excellent starting point.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Books of the Bible (online)
Overviews of authorship, canonicity, historical context, literary structure, and more; useful bibliographies included. (Note that the LS--LinkSource--button under each bibliographic entry will work only for journal articles, not books; search our catalog for books that look valuable for your research.)
Fortress Commentary on the Bible (2014) (online)
E-book version of a recent two-volume Bible commentary with contributions from 75 major scholars.
The New Interpreter's Bible REF BS 491.2 N484 1994 (12 vols.)