Special Collections Librarian
Colleen Hoelscher
Contact:
Coates Library 100H
Schedule an appointment!
Schedule an appointment!
Subjects: Museum Studies, Special Collections and Archives
Librarian
Introduction
This guide contains resources for your class visit to Special Collections and Archives.
But first, what are special collections? What are archives?
Special collections is the term typically used to describe distinctive materials in the library collection: manuscripts, rare books, valuable materials, and archives. Archives are the documentary evidence (primary sources) of people and institution in the past. The archives is the place where archives are collected. Archives are an invaluable source for historians doing research.
Returning to Special Collections
Want to spend more time looking at the material from today's class, or need help with primary source research for this or another class? Special Collections is open Monday to Thursday from 1pm to 4pm, or by appointment. Click the button below to schedule your visit.
Special Collections & Archives
Below is a list of the archival collections we consulted during your class visit to Special Collections. Schedule an appointment to view any of this material, or email us at archives@trinity.edu.
-
Claudius Belk Military ScrapbookScrapbook of Claudius Earle Belk's first few years in military service. Includes a log of major events in his life, as well as world events, from 1938 to 1939; photographs of his family and home; photographs, postcards, and real photographic postcards of locations during his training on Parris Island and deployment on the USS Yorktown; other photographs and postcards collected by Belk, predominantly of military subjects; and two maps of his travels.
-
Collection of World War II Rocketry MaterialsCollection of materials related to German rocketry during World War II, including intelligence and research reports, translations of research materials, photographs, blueprints, notes, and published materials. Includes some materials related to the Allied military operation "Project Big Ben" and "Operation Paperclip."
-
Elbert DeCoursey PapersA pathologist, DeCoursey held various positions in the United States Army. He was the Director of the Army Group Joint Commission for the Investigation of Effects of the Atomic Bomb in Nagasaki, Japan; consultant for the Division of Biology and Medicine for the Atomic Energy Commission; commandant of the Army Medical Service Research and Graduate School (now Walter Reed Institute of Research); Director of Armed Forces Institute of Pathology; and Chancellor of Army Medical Service School at Ft. Sam Houston.
-
Erlandson Collection of American School of the Air PapersThis collection consists of materials from the creation of the American School of the Air radio program.
-
The Fatherland newspaperWeekly newspaper for German-Americans published in the years leading up to World War I.
-
Jim Maloney Research CollectionThis collection consists of Jim Maloney’s “vertical file,” or collection of background research to support his journalistic coverage of the United States space program. Materials cover a broad range of topics related to the space program, and come in a wide variety of formats, including press releases, news clippings, ephemera, interviews, publications, photographs, and more.
-
Karl J. Pelzer Collection of Southeast Asia MaterialsThis collection consists of pamphlets, reprints, articles, newsletters, periodicals, and other similar publications about Southeast Asia. The materials primarily focus on political issues during the 1960s and 1970s.
-
Ronald Hilton Papers and Audio MaterialsThe collection includes autographed letters from prominent Latin Americans, photographs of Cuba during the Spanish-American War, letters written to Hilton's shortwave radio program from listeners across the Western Hemisphere, and audiotapes of interviews with over 270 prominent figures in Latin American politics, academics, and culture.
-
Sir Henry Hardman Pamphlet CollectionThe "Hardman Pamphlets" span the years 1880-1980, with the bulk of the material falling into the period 1920 to 1960. The pamphlets cover a broad spectrum of subjects, the greatest emphasis being on twentieth-century British, labor-oriented literature, ranging from political theories, primarily socialism, to practical worker education movements.
-
Trinity Astrophysical Society "Operation Moonwatch"File contains correspondence, newsletters, new clippings, and photographs. Project was directed by Dr. Paul Seabase, chair of the physics department.
-
Trinity University Lecture SeriesTrinity University hosts more than a dozen regular campus lecture series, such as the Distinguished Lecture Series, the Martin Luther King Jr. Commemorative Lecture, the DeCoursey Lecture Series, and the Flora Cameron Lecture on Politics and Public Affairs. Through these conversations, Tigers make meaningful connections each year with renowned scientists, world leaders, Nobel Prize winners, and best-selling authors.
-
William C. Sullivan Pamphlet CollectionCollection of pamphlets on the topic of communism assembled by William C. Sullivan, former head of intelligence operations at the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Many of the pamphlets are from Catholic publishers or authors.
-
Ziperman Postcard CollectionMargaret "Peg" Ziperman collected postcards throughout her life, both to document her travels and postcards of places she had never been. This collection includes numerous postcards documenting World War I.