HIST 3469: U.S. Foreign Relations

The National Security Archive’s holdings include numerous donations of declassified documents from scholars and journalists, as well as the results of 35+ years of Freedom of Information Act requests.

A non-partisan project to make congressional archives available online. Congressional archives are the primary materials generated by Congress and that document the work of Congress. They are separated into official records and personal papers.

The CMH collections include e-books, oral histories, and other primary sources about the major campaigns in which the U.S. Army has fought, including WWII, the Korean War, and Vietnam.

A collection of declassified and historically significant CIA documents. Some documents have been arranged by topic, e.g, the Reagan, China, and Vietnam collections.

Free access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government, including court cases, statutes, budgets, etc.

Few of the State Department's Central Files are available online, but some have been digitized and you can find them here. Be sure to select "Available Online" from the top menu.

"This website provides a wealth of information about the Department’s FOIA program and how to obtain access to the Department’s records, as well as a search tool containing 110,585 searchable documents reviewed and released to the public."

Clearinghouse of UN documents. Resources of greatest relevance to your projects include: (1) the United Nations Digital Library, which includes UN documents, voting data, speeches, maps, and open access publications; (2) the Official Document System, which provides full text search of documents issued since 1993 and resolutions of all principal organs and Security Council plenary documents since 1946; and (3) the Yearbook of the United Nations, a reference work that provides a detailed overview of the Organization's activities during the course of a year.

The full government documents libguide, including information on citing government documents.

Official website for US federal legislative information. Search for Bills, Laws, and Resolutions; find out what's currently happening in Congress; read Committee Reports. Best for current and recent legislative needs.