HIST 3469: U.S. Foreign Relations

This subject portal highlights records of Federal agencies and collections that relate to Black life during the World War I Era. The selected records contain information on various topics, which include work, military involvement, arts & intellectuals, racial violence and the Great Migration. It also includes records on several individuals, including Ida B. Wells-Barnett, W. E. B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey, Paul Robeson, Mary Church Terrell and Jack Johnson.

"With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies."

DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Includes many primary sources and other public domain materials.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.

The Internet Archive provides access to primary sources in the public domain. Metadata is of uneven quality, so make use of phrasal searching when possible.

Weekly newspaper for German-Americans published in the years leading up to World War I.

This collection consists of pamphlets, reprints, articles, newsletters, periodicals, and other similar publications about Southeast Asia. The materials primarily focus on political issues during the 1960s and 1970s.

The Marjorie McGown Collection consists largely of ephemera from San Antonio society and cultural events between 1909 and 1970, including materials related to the American Red Cross during World War I.

The Paul Baker Papers consist of correspondence, photographs, administrative records, scripts, playbills, blueprints for theatre construction, periodical clippings and scrapbooks spanning the years 1925-1976, including a scrapbook of his service in the USO during World War II.

The collection includes autographed letters from prominent Latin Americans, photographs of Cuba during the Spanish-American War, letters written to Hilton's shortwave radio program from listeners across the Western Hemisphere, and audiotapes of interviews with over 270 prominent figures in Latin American politics, academics, and culture.

The "Hardman Pamphlets" span the years 1880-1980, with the bulk of the material falling into the period 1920 to 1960. The pamphlets cover a broad spectrum of subjects, the greatest emphasis being on twentieth-century British, labor-oriented literature, ranging from political theories, primarily socialism, to practical worker education movements.

Collection of pamphlets on the topic of communism assembled by William C. Sullivan, former head of intelligence operations at the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Many of the pamphlets are from Catholic publishers or authors.

Margaret "Peg" Ziperman collected postcards throughout her life, both to document her travels and postcards of places she had never been. This collection includes numerous postcards documenting World War I.