Introduction
This guide contains links to resources that may be helpful for your HIST 3468 final project. Use the tabs on the left (or at the top of the page on mobile) to learn more about:
Special Collections Research - Information about using materials at Coates Library Special Collections & Archives
Other Sources - Digitized primary sources, secondary sources, and other resources related to early books and manuscripts
Creating Omeka Exhibits - Resources for creating your digital exhibit
C.W. Miller Collection
C.W. Miller was a successful San Antonio businessman, president of the city Chamber of Commerce, and a member of the Board of Trustees here at Trinity University. He was also the donor behind the Miller Fountain.
In 1954 he gifted the university a collection of rare books and manuscripts. These items--many of them damaged, or dealing with obscure topics--would have been very reasonably priced at the time. Miller viewed the collection as an opportunity for students to be able to directly interact with medieval and renaissance era artifacts.
This collection was house in the Chapman Great Hall for many years, until the opening of Special Collections & Archives in Coates Library in 1983.
Schedule Research Appointments
Use this link to schedule your initial research appointment. This appointment will be one-on-one with Professor Hoelscher, as she will walk you through some key features of your book/object:
Use this link to schedule any subsequent research appointments. You are also welcome to take advantage of our walk-in hours (Monday-Friday, 1pm-4pm), though the space may be closed due to classes or other events.
Additional appointment times may be available by emailing us at archives@trinity.edu.