It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Geosciences Subject Guide: Databases
This guide will get you started with basic research on the geosciences.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed research literature, indexing over 19,000 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers. Scopus covers the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields as well as arts and humanities. Scopus includes scholarly journals, book series, conference proceedings, trade publications and Open Access journals.
The GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers and reports. It also includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are covered as well. The GeoRef database includes access to GeoRef In Process. The GeoRef In Process database contains records that are in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database.
GeoScienceWorld (GSW) is a nonprofit corporation formed by a group of leading geoscientific organizations for the purpose of making geoscience research and related information easily and economically available via the Internet. GSW is an unprecedented collaboration of six leading earth science societies and one institute. American Association of Petroleum Geologists (AAPG), American Geological Institute (AGI), Geological Society of America (GSA), The Geological Society of London (GSL), Mineralogical Society of America (MSA), Society for Sedimentary Geology (SEPM), and Society of Exploration Geophysicists (SEG.