Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geosciences Subject Guide

This guide will get you started with basic research on the geosciences.

Internet Sites

Geological Society of America

This site describes the history and current activities of one of the largest professional societies in the earth sciences. Upcoming GSA meetings are outlined; instructions on how to apply for grants, awards, and invitations to the Penrose Conferences are given along with the instructions for authors wanting to contribute papers to GSA journals. The tables of contents for current issues of the Geological Society of America Bulletin, Geology, and GSA Today are included for browsing. In addition, a searchable retrospective index is available for GSA Bulletin (1972-present), Geology (1973-present), and GSA Today (1991-present).

 

American Geological Institute

The extensive coverage of legislative and governmental activities relating to the earth science community is timely and useful. As producer of the GeoRef database, AGI gives information about the subjects and journals covered in GeoRef, the access process, and search aids (thesaurus, training manual). Links to the 44 member societies provide additional information regarding important organizations within the field.

 

Paleontological Society Homepage

In addition to information about the society, this site  provides the criteria and application forms for grants and scholarships, including the International Research Program. Publication resources include a list of special publications, an online version of their newsletter, Priscum, and instructions for authors submitting articles to the Journal of Paleontology. Links to other sites, especially the museums, are good.

 

Society of Exploration Geophysicists

The Publications section of this site is particularly useful. The list of currently available publications is accompanied by a searchable cumulative (1936-to date) index to publications from SEG, the European Association of Geoscientists and Engineers, the Australian Society of Exploration Geophysicists, the Canadian Society of Exploration Geophysicists, and the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. Abstracts of articles from current issues of Geophysics and The Leading Edge are online for browsing.

 

United States Geological Survey

An excellent site that focuses on geology, geography, water, geospatial information, and biology.  Links give access to very detailed data as well as general information. The publications section includes a link to the USGS Library catalog.

Other national surveys also have good home pages:

·         Natural Resources Canada

·         Australian Geological Survey Organisation

·         British Geological Survey

         

Global Change Master Directory

NASA's site provides descriptions of earth science data sets and services relevant to global change research. The data set descriptions were contributed by more than 1200 data centers, government agencies, universities, research institutions and archives around the world. Organized by topics, it covers agriculture, atmosphere, biosphere, climate indicators, cryosphere, human dimensions, hydrosphere, land surface, oceans, paleoclimate, solid earth, spectral/engineering, and sun-earth interactions.

 

Earthquake Hazards Program Website

This site includes an online information program allowing access to earthquake and geomagnetic activity from as recently as the last hour through the last week.  Much of the information is technical but a number of earthquake lists (largest in the world, in the United States, by state, etc.) will be of wide popular interest. Lists of historical earthquakes by magnitude, number of deaths, amount of destruction and other criteria are provided along with location maps.

 

Universities Council on Water Resources

The Council's site provides access to information related to education, research, and public service in water resources.

 

Edwards Aquifer Research and Data Center

This is the home page for the Edwards Aquifer Research and Data Center, which is located at Texas State University in San Marcos. It provides information on the Edwards Aquifer, which is the water source for the entire San Antonio area. There are links to general background information and statistics on water usage and recharge, as well as links to the USGS streamflow data for surface water information.

 

Volcano World

A project of the Oregon Space Grant Consortium, this site is aimed at higher education, K-12, and the general public.  The "Current Eruptions" section (under the Volcanoes tab) links to information and sometimes webcams from recent eruptions.

 

Mineral Gallery

This site provides descriptions and images of mineral specimens and includes searchable mineralogical data. You can search for minerals by name, class or other types of groupings such as gemstones, birthstones, etc. There are good discussions of the physical characteristics of minerals.

 

University of California-Berkeley Museum of Paleontology

This is a very nice site with extensive online exhibits that can be searched by phylogeny, geology or evolutionary theory. It is possible to search for type specimen data in online catalogs on vertebrate, invertebrate, microfossils or plant fossils. The "Subway" provides good links to science and other museum sites on the Web.