Getting Started
Choosing a topic that interests you is important! Thankfully, in terms of Global Climate Change, there are a wide range of topics. Some helpful places to look for topics may be:
- Case Studies from Chapter 7 of Global Climate Change (your textbook).
- IPCC AR6 assessment reports
- United Nations' Sustainable Development Goals
Finding Sources
For your assignment you will need:
- ≥ Five (5) peer-reviewed articles focused on physical climate/environmental science.
- ≥ Five (5) articles (ideally peer-reviewed) on policy, economics, human geography, etc...
- ≥ Three (3) articles from the mass media.
- The Conversation - US (Environment)The Conversation is a news outlet that features articles written by academics and subject experts.
- New York Times (Environment)NYT articles on the topic of Environment and Climate.
- Google News (Environment)News link aggregator. Stories on climate and environment from a variety of sources.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life science, social science, physical science and health sciences.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers and reports from North America and the rest of the world.
- GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, eBooks, and GeoRef records with specialized and map-based search capabilities and links to curated earth science research around the web.
- Annual Reviews Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the Sciences Collection which includes 48 journals.
- NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text research papers published by the National Bureau of Economic Research, including titles from the Working Papers, Technical Working Papers, and Development of the American Economy series.
- Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
It features news, business, and legal sources--including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Citing Sources
Your professor has given you the opportunity to choose the specific reference style as long as your operate within a few basic parameters:
- the style is consistent
- Citing in-text references with brackets and one (1) of the following styles:
- Numerical: [1]
- Author-Year: [Edwards et al., 2020]
- Your chosen style has all the necessary components to allow someone (such as your professor) to find the works you are referencing.
Below are some common reference styles and their guides.
- GSA Citation StyleGuidelines and Examples
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineThis is the required citation style for Dr. KBM's classes. Example below:
Additional Resources
- Climate Impacts and Solutions Term PaperAssignment details, as provided by Prof. Edwards