Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art/Art History Subject Guide

This subject guide includes information for locating books, articles, web sites, and other resources related to research in Art and Art History.

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. REF N33 C53 2001

Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art: Worldview, Symbolism, and Culture in Africa, Oceania, and Native North America. REF E98 A7 W49 2000

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 13 vols. REF D114 D5

Enciclopedia dell-arte antica, classica e orientale. 7 vols. and supps. REF N31 E48

Encyclopedia of American Art before 1914. REF N6507 E525 2000

Encyclopedia of Architecture, Design, Engineering, and Construction. 5 vols. REF NA31E59.

Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography. REF N7560 E53 1998

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art. REF N6502 E53 2000

Encyclopedia of World Art.  17 vols. N31 E533

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and ArchitectureREF N5610 G76 2007

Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists. REF N6505 M59 2007

Oxford Dictionary of Art. REF N33 O93 2004

Yale Dictionary of Art and Artists. Stacks N33 L353 2000

Reference Sources

Art Books: A Basic Bibliography of Monographs on Artists. 2nd ed. REF N40 F73

Atlas of Western Art History: Artists, Sites, and Movements from Ancient Greece to the Modern Age. REF G1046 E64 S7 1994

Atlas of World Art. REF G1046 E1 O9 2004

Bullfinch Guide to Art History: A Comprehensive Survey and Dictionary of Western Art and Architecture. REF N380 B85 1996

Famous Works of Art in Popular Culture: A Reference Guide. Stacks N72 S6 S667 2003

Guide to the Literature of Art History. REF N380 M368 2005

Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae. REF N7760 L49

Mythological and Classical World Art Index: A Locator of Paintings, Sculptures, Frescoes, Manuscript Illuminations, Sketches, Woodcuts and Engravings Executed 1200BC to AD1900, with a directory of institutions holding them. REF N7760 R63 1991

Online Reference Sources