Librarian
Coates Library
Click the flag to schedule an appointment with me by Google Calendar
Get Started
This guide includes a few of our most popular resources for Art and Art History research.
If you would like to talk about your research project, strategies for finding information, or have any questions, schedule an appointment with the liaison for Art and Art History.
Find Scholarly Articles and More
-
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Resource for art and architecture information covering a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a comprehensive list of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
-
BHA: Bibliography of the History of ArtThe BHA is considered to be the most comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing on the history of western art. The database includes indexing for articles published between 1975 and 2009.
-
Art Index RetrospectiveIncludes indexing for journals, magazines, and other periodicals on art and art history from 1929-1984.
-
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Provides journal articles on architectural design, the history and practice of architecture, and landscape architecture.
-
Architectural Digest Archive This link opens in a new window
Photography and information on architecture and interior design, art and antiques, travel destinations, and extraordinary products. From its first issue in 1920 through 2011.
-
Art Magazine Archive (1902-2016) This link opens in a new windowAn archive of three leading art magazines — The Magazine ANTIQUES (1922 - 2016), ARTnews (1902 - 2006) and Art in America (1913 - 2016) — covering contemporary art, visual art, and fine arts.
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
This dictionary contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts -- painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day.
Trial Database
The following databases are currently available for a temporary trial period. Please share your experiences and any feedback with me if you explore this resource.
-
Contemporary Art Library - TRIALA selection of artwork from contemporary exhibitions worldwide.