Visiting Special Collections & Archives
Special Collections & Archives houses library materials which are especially valuable or fragile and serves as the repository for the Trinity University Archives. Our collections include the C.W. Miller Collection, from which you will be drawing for your Omeka exhibit.
Special Collections & Archives is typically open Monday through Wednesday, from 1:00pm to 4:00pm. These hours may change without notice due to classes or staff availability. Appointments are not required during these hours, but are helpful to ensure the most efficient use of your time. Scheduling an appointment helps the staff prepare materials for your visit. Appointments can also be scheduled for weekday mornings by emailing archives@trinity.edu.
During your visit...
When you visit the archives please be aware of a few basic guidelines for our reading room.
-
Archival material and rare books are to be consulted only in the Reading Room and do not circulate.
-
Coats, backpacks, purses, or any bags must be stored in the coat closet or lobby during your visit. Researchers may bring laptop computers into the Reading Room.
-
Eating and drinking are not permitted.
-
To preserve our collections, materials must be handled with care at all times: do not lean on, write on, fold or handle materials in a way that may damage them. Tracing is not permitted. Only pencils may be used in the Reading Room.
-
Please remove only one folder from a box at a time and replace all materials in their original order.
For more information on policies for Special Collections & Archives please see the Special Collections and Archives Guidelines for Use.
C.W. Miller Collection - Digital Resources
Some items in the CW Miller Collection have already been digitized. High quality versions of these scans are available in the class Google Drive.
- Carta Real
Manuscript of vellum in Spanish romance with Gothic characters. In 49 leaves, bound in vellum with a braided cord. Waste parchment used in the binding include large scraps of music notation. Includes a full-page frontispiece illustration of St. James fighting the Moors. The manuscript is a royal document, dated November 21, 1566 in the city of Granada. The document confirms the decree of execution of February 29th, 1496, in favor of Juan de Bonillo, on occasion of a controversy with disputants in the royal audience, respecting the rights of property of noblemen. - Book of Hours LeafVellum leaf from a medieval Book of Hours disbound and sold by Otto F. Ege as part of his "Fifty Original Leaves from Medieval Manuscripts" portfolio.
- Breviary leaf
Vellum leaf from a medieval breviary disbound and sold by Otto F. Ege as part of his "Fifty Original Leaves from Medieval Manuscripts" portfolio. - Dit zijn de landen van der Kerke van Borre
Manuscript on vellum, 36 leaves, in a large Gothic hand, in a Middle Dutch dialect. A register of the lands and annual rents of the Church of Borre.
If your assigned item is not listed above, that means that it has not yet been digitized. You can request scans of specific pages by filling out a form in the reading room, or scan items yourself using our overhead scanner (please bring a flash drive if you plan to do your own scanning). Please note that scan requests may be limited due to length or time restraints.