Statement on Culturally and Racially Insensitive Material
Working with archival material requires us to acknowledge the past on a regular basis. Some archival materials may represent positions, cultural norms, and values that are no longer, or never were, acceptable. Individuals might come across insensitive and socially unacceptable descriptions and depictions within our older materials.
As an example, blackface--racist portrayals of African American characters by white actors--has a long history in American theater, and productions at Trinity were no different. Insensitive portrayals of non-white races occurred in many Trinity productions. Photographic depictions are included in such collections as our Theater collection, our Mirage Yearbook collection, and other areas we have yet to identify. When we find something, they are presented uncensored and in their original form, as it is important to acknowledge and document the shortcomings in the school's history.
Archives have a responsibility to maintain the historical integrity of the material and should serve as a means of accountability.
Similarly, there may be instances in which material has been described in an insensitive and socially unacceptable manner during acquisition or processing. Archival descriptions are not fixed documents and should be reviewed regularly and updated as needed.
It is appropriate to bring problematic descriptions to the attention of the archivist or librarian if you feel comfortable doing so.
University Archivist
Special Collections Librarian
Schedule an appointment!
Introduction
This guide provides resources from Special Collections and Archives for researching Trinity's ties to enslavement, Reconstruction, and the Jim Crow era.
Materials are available for use during Special Collections and Archives open reading room hours and by appointment. Learn more about visiting here: https://lib.trinity.edu/library-collections/visit-sca/ . Please contact the unit at archives@trinity.edu with any additional questions.
Ratio-Maeonian Society Hall at Trinity University's Tehuacana campus. Image shows a framed poster of Jefferson Davis to the right of the podium. Date unknown, circa 1898. tehu_023, Tehuacana Collection. Coates Library Special Collections and Archives, Trinity University, San Antonio, Texas.
Tehuacana-era Collections
- UA0300 Tehuacana CollectionArchival materials from the Tehuacana era, including financial records, correspondence related to the school, literary society materials, and assorted ephemera. Consult with the archivist for more information.
- Tehuacana PhotoprintsDigitized photographs of the Tehuacana era. Visit Special Collections & Archives to view the original photographs, and more recent photographs of the former campus.
- Tales from TehuacanaA compilation of alumni recollections, gathered in the 1950s.
- UA0307 Ida Bob Patterson Photo AlbumPhoto album contains photo prints of early Trinity University students and faculty.
- UA0308 J.O. Terrell Photo Album and ScrapbookJ. O. Terrell was a student of Trinity University at Tehuacana. The photo album is of early Trinity students and faculty. The scrapbook is of news clippings, telegrams, and letters received at his death, compiled by his wife.
- UA0316 Rev. D.S.M. Bodenhamer PapersRev. D.M.S. Bodenhamer was professor at Trinity in Tehuacana and Waxahachie. His papers consists of a journal detailing his time at Cumberland University and his beginnings at Trinity University, as well as letters from students at the time of his retirement.
- UA0317 B.E. Looney PapersB.E. Looney was a student, professor and president of the alumni association for Trinity. His papers contain correspondence with alumni.
- Celebrating 150 Years of Delta Gamma Sorority, 1873-2023Delta Gamma had a chapter at Trinity for one year, from 1880-1881. A historian for the Delta Gammas compiled biographical information on its members.
Trinity University Board of Trustees Records
- UA0001 Board of Trustees Records, 1869-presentThis collection contains a wide variety of materials pertaining to the Board of Trustees of Trinity University, dating back to 1869. Correspondence, meeting agendas and minutes, reports and financial documentation make up the majority of this collection. Biographical files and photographs of former trustee members, and governance documents such as bylaws and charters complete the collection.
Material generated by the Board of Trustees of the University are confidential documents of the University to which access shall be restricted for a period of 25 years from the respective dates of material described within this finding aid. During the restriction period, access to files may be permitted only if the person seeking access submits a written itemized request of files to view to the University Archives which will then be forwarded to to the Assistant Secretary of the Board of Trustees. Either the Chairman of the Board of Trustees or the Executive Committee determines in the Chairman's or the Committee's sole and absolute discretion, as the case may be, to permit such access. Inquires can be submitted to archives@trinity.edu.
Trinity University Presidential Records and Papers
- UA0003 President Samuel L. Hornbeak Papers
- UA0004 President John Burma Records, 1921-1933
- UA0005 President Frank L. Wear Records, 1937-1942
- UA0008 President James W. Laurie Records, 1950-1970
Trinity Historiography
- A Church-Related College Anticipates its CentennialPaul J. Schwab. San Antonio: Naylor Co., 1960.
- History of Trinity University from 1869-1934Yetta Graham Mitchell. Dallas: Southern Methodist, 1936.
- Trinity University, 1939-1952: The Story of Relocation in San AntonioHetherington, Martha Ann. Austin: University of Texas. 1965.
- Trinity University: a Record of One Hundred YearsDonald Everett. San Antonio: Trinity University Press, 1968.
- Trinity University: a Tale of Three CitiesR. Douglas Brackenridge. San Antonio: Trinity University Press, 2004.
- Trinity University: Honoring the Past, Shaping the FutureSan Antonio: Trinity University Press, 2019.
- Trinity University: Project of PioneersSamuel L. Hornbeak. San Antonio: Trinity University, 1951.
Additional University Archives
- UA0040 Trinity University Graduation Collection (1894-present)This collection consists of material from graduation events at Trinity University. Materials includes commencement and baccalaureate programs, printed addresses, photographs, ceremony recordings, and other assorted material such as invitations.
- UA0075 Assorted Trinity University Publications (1875-2005)This collection consists of assorted Trinity University publications. The collection includes student and academic department publications, as well as publications from the administration.
- UA0301 Waxahachie Collection
- UA0304 Trinity University History Collection
- UA0306 Trinity Centennial Celebration MaterialsEphemera related to the celebration of Trinity's centennial in 1969.
- Digitized Trinity University PublicationsThis site contains the digitized versions of the Trinitonian newspaper (1919-1943 and 1959-present), Mirage yearbook (1912-1916, 1919-1942, 1944-1978, 1980-present), Course of Study Bulletins (1869-present), and On Trinity Hill daily newsbulletin (1964-1972).
- Trinity Historical Images ArchiveCollection of historic photographs documenting Trinity's history across four campuses. The collection dates back to 1869, and includes such formats as glass plate images, tintypes, slides, and gelatin prints. Includes architect renderings and building photographs from the current and former university campuses.
Cumberland Presbyterian Resources
- Cumberland Presbyterian NewspaperNewspapers by the Cumberland Presbyterian denomination.
- Historical Foundation of the Cumberland Presbyterian ChurchOne of the highlights of this source is copious genealogical research and biographies of Cumberland Presbyterian ministers.
- Rev. B.A. Hodges Papers
- Rev. S.M. Templeton Papers
- Voice in the Wilderness: A History of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in TexasR. Douglas Brackenridge. San Antonio: Trinity University Press, 1968
Presbyterian USA Resources
- College Board Records, 1906-1917On microflim
- College Board Records, 1918-1938On microflim
- General Assembly, Trustees Minutes, 1799-1916On microfilm
- Synod of Texas minutes, 1878-1918On microfilm
- Synod of Texas minutes, 1919-1944On microfilm
- Synod of Texas minutes, 1945-1957On microfilm
- Synod of Texas Minutes, 1912-1919
- Synod of Texas Minutes, 1920-1929
- Synod of Texas Minutes, 1930-31, 1933-38