Online version of 15 volume set recognized as best single scholarly encyclopedia in religion. Many substantial articles, does not have a particular regional or theological slant to the set. Updated in 2005.
2007 update of this 22 volume, highly regarded printed resource.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Another large, scholarly set (original 9 volumes) that was updated and digitized in 2008; good for sociological, anthropological, psychological, political, etc. viewpoints.
Ethics is usually considered a branch of this discipline. Second edition, 2005.
You can find hundreds of other encyclopedias (some of them are labeled dictionaries, but still have long articles) by searching in our catalog. Do a keyword search for your specific subject and "encyclopedias", or if that doesn't turn up anything, try a broader subject or discipline and "encyclopedias."
Examples:
holocaust and encyclopedias
gay and encyclopedias
environment and encyclopedias
Religious Sources:
The New Catholic Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America REF BL 458 E52 2006
Encyclopedia of Hinduism REF BL 1105 E53 2008
Encyclopedia of Buddhism REF BQ 128 I76 2008
Encyclopedia of Religion in America REF BL 2520 E52 2010
Encyclopedia of African American Religions REF BR 563 N4 E53 1993
Encyclopedia of Islamic Civilisation and Religion REF BP 40 E526 2010
Encyclopaedia of Islam REF DS 37 E523
Encyclopedia of the Qur'an REF BP 133 E53 2001
Other Disciplinary Sources:
Encyclopedia of Ethics REF BJ 63 E45 2001
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy REF B 51 R68 1998
Encyclopedia of Bioethics REF QH 332 E52 1995
The Ethics of Sex and Genetics REF HQ 32 E74 1998
Rethinking Human Rights for the New Millennium REF JC 571 F495 2001
The Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought REF JA 61 B57 1987
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace & Conflict REF HM 291 E625 1999
Encyclopedia of Terrorism REF HV 6431 C645 2002
The Film Encyclopedia REF PN 1993.45 K34 2001