LibGuides: HIST 3442: American Migrant Cities: General Primary Sources

Census Records & Other Genealogical Research

The San Antonio Public Library offers several databases that can be helpful when looking for census records or other genealogical information.

Ancestry.com Library Edition - Ancestry has the most thorough collection of genealogical records, including census records. This resource can be used free of charge from any of the public-access computers at a San Antonio Public Library branch.

HeritageQuest - HeritageQuest is a simplified version of Ancestry. It can be accessed from anywhere using your library card number and password.

Don't have a SAPL card? It is easy to get one! All you need is a photo ID and proof of a San Antonio address--your dorm or apartment counts! The nearest branch, Landa Library, is steps away from campus at the corner of Bushnell and Shook.

Primary Source Databases

Umbra Search African American History
Umbra Search brings together hundreds of thousands digitized materials documenting African American history and culture from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.

Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers

Searchable American newspapers from 1770-1963.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times & Washington Post

This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times and Washington Post; the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.

Tips to Finding Databases

Looking for primary sources related to a city that isn't San Antonio? Some ways to identify relevant, reliable primary source databases:

Search for historic newspapers from that city. Chronicling America from the Library of Congress is a great resource.
Look at the library websites for colleges and universities in and near that city. They may have a section with digitized material from their archives, or a resource guide like this one.
Find the website of an historical society or history museum.