LibGuides: HIST 3442: American Migrant Cities: Archival Research

Local Archival Repositories

Coates Library Special Collections & Archives
Special Collections & Archives is located on the second floor of Coates Library. We are open Monday to Wednesday, from 12pm-4pm, or by appointment. We recommend emailing us with information about your research topic before your visit, so that we can ensure the most efficient use of your time. Appointments or research inquiries can be made by emailing archives@trinity.edu.
UTSA Special Collections
UTSA has the largest collection of local history materials, including photographs, personal papers, business records, and oral histories.
SAPL Texana & Genealogy Department
The Texana & Genealogy Department at San Antonio Public Library's Central Branch collects material related to local history, with a particular emphasis on genealogical research. They are not open to the public at this time, but are available to assist via email.
San Antonio African American Community Archive and Museum
SAAACAM works to collect, preserve and share the cultural heritage of African Americans in the San Antonio region.

And if you are able to travel a bit farther....

Benson Latin American Collection
Located at UT Austin, the Benson is one of the leading collections in the world on Latin American studies.
Dolph Briscoe Center for American History
Located at UT Austin, materials here focus on American history, with a particular emphasis on the history of Texas and the South.
Harry Ransom Center
Located at UT Austin, the Ransom Center is one of the preeminent repositories for humanities research in the world.

Culturally and Racially Insensitive Material in the Archives

Working with archival material requires us to acknowledge the past on a regular basis. Some archival materials may represent positions, cultural norms, and values that are no longer, or never were, acceptable. You might come across insensitive and socially unacceptable descriptions and depictions while looking at primary sources.

Similarly, there may be instances in which material has been described in an insensitive and socially unacceptable manner during acquisition or processing. Archival descriptions are not fixed documents and should be reviewed regularly and updated as needed. It is appropriate to bring problematic descriptions to the attention of the archivist or librarian if you feel comfortable doing so.

Visiting an Archives

So you found some material related to your topic at a local archives---what next? Every archives is different, but here are some good guidelines to follow:

Check on the archive's website if an appointment is required (this is very common!). Even if it is not required, scheduling an appointment means the archivist can prepare material for your visit, allowing for a more efficient use of your time.
You will likely be expected to sign a registration form, and agree to abide by a list of "reading room rules." These rules are in place to help protect priceless historical documents, and will likely include such guidelines as no food or drink, no pens, and no backpacks. Be prepared and bring paper and a pencil with which to take notes.
Ask if you can take photographs with your phone. Most of the time this is allowed, and is a great way to record your observations. Some archives may not allow photography, and require you to pay for photocopies or scans.
Allow plenty of time for your research visit. It often takes longer than you expect to read older handwriting.
Ask the archivist or librarian if you need help determining how to cite the material you viewed.