Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIST 2440: U.S. Society and Politics Since 1945

Primary Sources in Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives houses library materials which are especially rare, valuable or fragile, and serves as the repository for the Trinity University Archives. Our materials cover a wide range of topics, with particular strengths in American literature, archaeology, art and art history, fine printing, history of the book, Latin American history, Mesoamerican history, space exploration, Texas history, and travel literature

In response to the Covid-19 pandemic, Special Collections & Archives is open by appointment only, and materials must be quarantined between users. Visitors to the reading room will be required to wear a mask and respect social distancing norms. In order to allow for materials to quarantine between users, appointments to use the same materials must be spaced at least 72 hours apart. Appointments will be scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis. Email archives@trinity.edu to schedule an appointment. 

Search our Collections

Materials in Special Collections & Archives can be searched in two places: the library catalog, and the finding aid database

Searching the catalog for books: 

The general library catalog is the best place to search for books and periodicals in Special Collections. On the search page, use the dropdown menu to limit your search to Special Collections. 


Searching for archival materials: 

Archival materials are unique documents from the past--things like letters, diaries, meeting minutes, photographs, videos, and more--organized into collections based on the creator, collector, or a common theme. These collections are described by archives in finding aids, which are detailed inventories with information about the contents and creator. 

The archival materials in Special Collections can be searched in our finding aid database, available at https://archives.trinity.edu/. This database is a work in progress, and contains only a portion of our material at this time. However, additions on ongoing. 

Finding aids can be keyword searched from the top menu bar, or you can browse by subject headings: 

Not finding any material on your topic? Contact us at archives@trinity.edu, and we can search materials that are not listed in the finding aid database for you. 

Digitized Trinitonian, Mirage, and Course of Study Bulletins

Just as the events and movements you are studying in class impacted American society, they influenced students on Trinity's campus. The Trinitonian and Mirage are rich sources of information about students' responses to current events and cultural changes.