PLSI 1331: Global Politics (Burke, Fall 2023)

Have you activated your group pass access to the NYT yet? This will give you unlimited access to the website. Click here to find the step-by-step guide to setting up your account for full NYT access on your computer or phone.

Click on the Nexis Uni link to find the most updated current edition.

Click on one of the databases listed under "Full Text Access" with access up to the present.

Please create your FT.com account by clicking on the above link for FT.com initial activation. New users will need to register for an account with your trinity.edu email address. Once activated users can then access FT.com from any computer, tablet and mobile device, as well as setup any personalization features such as myFT. Access is available to faculty, staff, and current students.

Trinity University Library provides access to The Economist.com, providing coverage of world politics, business, finance, economics, technology, and more. Access is open to all students, faculty, and staff members with a Trinity Login ID. Access is currently provided through the Trinity proxy server. If you are trying to access the site while off-campus, you will be prompted to enter your Trinity login credentials.

A good place to find news highlights and press releases

An index of newspapers and news sources, including links to free-web sources (like CNN International Edition) and television news (often not in English)

From the website: "The euro|topics press review keeps you up to date on the debates that are stirring Europe and reflects the diversity of opinions, ideas and moods. Whether the subject is politics, the economy, society or culture, euro|topics takes a daily look at Europe's press and cites the most important voices. Because what we want to know is: What does Europe think?"
This website scans over 500 sources from all EU countries plus Switzerland and Turkey, and provides the highlights with links to the full-text article. NOTE: Though the review is in English, usually the full-text article is in a language other than English.
The press review is available M-F in German, English, French, and Turkish.

From their website: "Eurozine opens up a new space for transnational debate"
Eurozine is a collaboration between dozens of print journals from Europe as well as web-based journals and opinions. It is a bit "hairy" in that you have to pay attention to where the information is coming from. That said, this will provide a lot of relevant information for your paper.

Includes the Spiegel Group: Spiegel TV and Der Spiegel, and German version of the Harvard Business Manager

Click on "Full Text Access" to find several databases with the current full text.

Click on "Full Text Access" to find several databases with the current full text.

Click on "Full Text Access" to find several databases with the current full text.

From the website: "This monthly information bulletin contains a selection of official documents of the European Union. The choice of documents will be based upon the interests of readers in Switzerland. In that sense, the bulletin will appeal in particular to higher education institutions, federal and cantonal administrations, legal practitioners and business people."
These bulletins are very case law heavy.

From the website: "The European Policy Institutes Network comprises 41 renowned think tanks and policy institutes working on EU affairs from 27 European countries, including almost all EU member states as well as candidate countries. By engaging in joint projects, events and publications, EPIN aims to contribute to the debate on current EU issues, the future of European integration and provide a thorough understanding of national debates."