Contact us!
Have a question you don't see answered here?
Contact us at archives@trinity.edu. We are always happy to help!
Other History Resources
Coates Library has resources to help genealogists and researchers with topics that go beyond just Trinity University and San Antonio. This page highlights our holdings that cover Texas, the American Southwest, Mexico, and more.
Print resources
- Texas almanacsAlmanacs for the state of Texas, published between 1857 and 1999.
- Texana booksSpecial Collections holds a wide range of books, including some very rare titles, on Texas history and Texana. Titles and topics can be searched in the library catalog.
- Mexican Archives microfilmMicrofilm copies of documents from the municipal and parochial archives of the states of Coahuila and Nuevo Leon, Mexico, 1599-1972. An inventory is available in this PDF.
Newspapers (Online Databases)
- African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.
- Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable American newspapers from 1770-1963.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times & Washington Post This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times and Washington Post; the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
Online resources
- Ziperman Postcard CollectionBrowse our digital collection of vintage postcards from around the world.
Archival Collections
- Texas Collections in Special Collections & ArchivesBrowse all archival collections related to Texas in the Coates Library Special Collections & Archives.
- Mexican Collections in Special Collections & ArchivesBrowse all archival collections related to Mexico in the Coates Library Special Collections & Archives.