LibGuides: Local History and Genealogy Resources: Getting Started with Genealogy

Where to Begin

Ancestry.com
Provides access to historical documents and photos, local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s. Available through private subscription, or at San Antonio Public Library branches.
Family Search
Family Search is a free genealogical research database sponsored by the LDS Church. The quality of your results can be hit or miss, and you do need to sign up for an account.

Newspapers

Local newspapers often contain obituaries, wedding announcements, and news stories that may help you explore your family history. Below are a few newspapers to which the library has digital access; your hometown library likely has a subscription to the local paper for that area.

San Antonio Express-News (1867-present) This link opens in a new window
It offers a uniquely Lone Star perspective on local, state, national, and international news.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times & Washington Post This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times and Washington Post; the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.
Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable American newspapers from 1770-1963.
Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
NewspaperARCHIVE contains thousands of issues of Texas newspapers, including several from the San Antonio area.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Selected full text for over 140 U.S. and international newspapers, including the Dallas Morning News.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper database, including the Dallas Morning News, Houston Chronicle and the Austin American Statesman.

Texas Digital Newspaper Program
Part of the Portal to Texas History, the Texas Digital Newspaper Program contains nearly one million items from over 1800 different newspapers.

Other Places to Look

Historical societies representing the local area where your ancestors lived
Colleges and universities where they attended schools
Archives from religious groups with which they were affiliated
Archives associated with an occupation, professional organization, fraternal organization, or social group