Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Classical Studies Subject Guide

This guide is designed to help students and others begin or continue their research related to classical studies.

Online Reference Sources

Mythology

Lexicon Iconographicum Mythologiae Classicae. REF N 7760 L49 1981

Dictionary of Classical Mythology.  REF BL 715 G713 1986

Dictionary of Classical Mythology: Symbols, Attributes, and Associations. REF BL 715 B44 1982

Greek and Egyptian Mythologies. REF BL 782 D47713 1992

Roman and European Mythologies. REF BL 689 D5313 1992

Women of Classical Mythology. REF BL 715 B445 1991

Reference Sources

Cambridge Ancient History. 3rd ed. Stacks D 57 C252

Classical Scholarship: An Annotated Bibliography.  REF DE 59 X2 H34

Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum.  Special Collection NK 4640 C6 (Denman Collection)

Religions of the Ancient World: A Guide. REF BL 687 R47 2004

Who's Who in Ancient Egypt. REF DT 76 R53 1999

Who's Who in the Greek World. REF DE 7 H39 2000

Who's Who in the Roman World. REF DG 203 W46

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Oxford Classical Dictionary. 3rd ed. REF DE 5 O9 1996

Cambridge Dictionary of Classical Civilization. REF DE 5 C28 2006

Dictionary of Ancient History. REF DE 5 D53 1994

Dictionary of the Ancient Near East. REF DS 56 D53 2000

Dictionary of Greek and Roman Geography. 2 vols. REF DE 25 S67 2006

Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World. REF DF 16 S23 1995

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. 3 vols. REF DT59 O94 2001

Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites. REF DE 59 P7

Literature Sources

Greek and Roman Authors: A Checklist of Criticism.  2nd ed. REF PA 3001 X2 G85 1982

Classical Greek and Roman Drama: An Annotated Bibliography. REF PA 3024 X2 F67 1989

The Classical Epic: An Annotated Bibliography.  REF PA 3022 E6 S2 S55 1991

Oxford Companion to Classical Literature. 2nd ed. REF PA 31 H69 1989

Atlases

Atlas of Ancient Egypt.  REF G 1046 E15 G613 1985

Atlas of Classical History. 5th ed. REF G 1033 G65 1994

Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World.  REF Atlas Cases G 1033 B37 2000

World Atlas of Archaeology.  REF G 1046 E15 G613 1985