Librarian Information
Additional Main Databases
These databases are a good starting place to access articles on chemistry.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Chemical Communications, Chemical Society Reviews, Dalton Transactions, Journal of Chemical Research, Journal of Materials Chemistry, New Journal of Chemistry, Perkin Transactions 1 & 2, and Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics. From 1841-present.
- ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Journals included are Accounts of Chemical Research, ACS Catalysis, ACS Nano, Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Reviews, Environmental Science & Technology, Inorganic Chemistry, Journal of Chemical Education, Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Langmuir, Nano Letters, Organic Letters, and The Journal of Organic Chemistry.
- SCOPUS This link opens in a new window
An abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed journals in top-level subject fields: life science, social science, physical science and health sciences.
Scifinder-n Scholar
You can also find articles in Scifinder Scholar. It also includes reference information for substances, including chemical properties. Both of these skills will be used in future experiments.
Before using Scifinder, please register here.
- Scifinder-n Scholar This link opens in a new window
Contains scientific information in journals and patent literature from around the world, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, material science, and agricultural science.
Tips:
- In reference search, focus on specific document types more likely to be primary sources. On the search results page, select clinical trial, conference, journal, and report from the left-hand tool bar.
- Note: Select each limiter (i.e. clinical trial or conference) one at a time and wait for the results to reload before choosing another limiter.
- On the search results page, the Sort by options can be helpful. Select Publication Year: Newest to get the most recent articles at the top of the list. Select Times Cited to get the most cited articles at the top of the list.
- Read the abstract for descriptions that indicate the article is a primary source.
- SciFinder-n Scholar is not a full-text database. It does not include article PDFs. Use the Full Text button to help find full text. See below in another box for more information.