LibGuides: ENGL 4405: Place-Based Writing: ...in Library Databases

...in Library Databases

19th Century British Pamphlets This link opens in a new window
Primary source covering the key political, social, technological, and environmental issues of the 19th century.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collections This link opens in a new window
Includes digitized images of American magazines and journals. Five series are: 1 (1691-1820), 2 (1821-1837), 3 (1838-1852), 4 (1853-1865), 5 (1866-1877)

American Periodicals Series
APS Online includes digital images of American magazines and journals dating from 1741 to 1900. The digitized images allow researchers to see the original typography, drawings, graphics, etc., as originally published.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
Covers many aspects of native North American culture, history, and life, including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries
The collection includes some 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, including more than 6,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 600 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous. It includes some 300 biographies to enhance the use of the database.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean
This rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and much more. World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology.