Librarian
Searchable Bibliographies
- Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Comprised of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues. All articles are classified with full bibliographical details and subject classifications and indexing familiar to medievalists.
- Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available from 55BC to the present.
Scholarly Articles in Full Text
- ATLA Religion DatabaseFull-text journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays across all fields of religion and theology including Biblical studies, world religions, church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
- Google ScholarUse Google Scholar to find sources, citing sources, and/or "search within citing works" to find related sources. Searches journal articles, white papers, student theses, book chapters, institutional reports, etc. When working off campus, set your library links to include Coates Library so you can see which article links have subscription full text options.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
- JSTORJSTOR is a vast archive of academic journals and History is one of its biggest collections. I've linked to JSTOR's advanced search so you can limit by discipline. Also, you can limit your searches to research articles, useful because JSTOR has loads of book reviews that may otherwise clutter your search results.
- Project MuseMuse is not as deep as JSTOR but it has 25 unique med-ren journals and 92 in History generally. In other words, be sure to search both JSTOR and Muse.
Finding Full Text in EMB & BBIH
The EMB and BBIH bibliographies contain citations of full-text articles, and only sometimes link to the article externally. Whenever a full-text external link is unavailable, try these steps:
- Search part of the article title in Google Scholar. Remember to add Coates/Trinity to your library links.
- Search the title in Google using quotation marks to return exact matches. Add the file operator to search for PDFs in particular. You may be able to find "wild" copies, e.g., one published on an author's personal web page
- Example: "pastoral care and rhetoric in early Anglo-Saxon letters to kings" file:.pdf
- Search the title in the library's OneSearch mega-database
- Submit an interlibrary loan request. It's easy! But keep your deadlines in mind. It takes time to fulfill requests.