ARTH 1408: Art History II--Renaissance to Modern Art

This guide contains resources for your class sessions being held in Special Collections. 

For additional Art History resources, check out the Art & Art History Subject Guide or contact the subject librarian for art/art history, Lacey Brooks-Canales. 

Step 1: Navigate to https://mill.trinity.edu/. This is a narrowed down version of the library catalog; it only contains physical resources in the building (books, DVDs, etc), ebooks, and journals/databases listed by title. It does not search for individual articles the way that the search on the library homepage does. 

Step 2: In the rightmost dropdown menu, limit your search results to "Special Collections." 

Step 3: Searching by keyword is the best place to start. This keyword might be the name of a specific artist (ie Henri Matisse), a time period (ie Renaissance), a geographic area (ie Texas), a museum (ie McNay). 

Step 1: Navigate to https://archives.trinity.edu/. This database contains finding aids, which are inventories of archival collections in Special Collections & Archives. 

Step 2: There are several different options to find items of interest. You can keyword search at the top of the page (outlined in red in the screenshot below), or you can browse by names (green arrow) or subjects (blue arrow). 

Step 3: Once you have identified an archival collection of interest, click on it to read the finding aid. The finding aid contains information about what is in the collection, who created the collection, and more. For example, we know the collection screenshot below contains one box and two drawers worth of sketches and prints by local artist Jean Rosow.