AR&D Research Guide

Special Collections and Archives has two catalog systems to search and find potentially relevant material.  We are slowly migrating to our new system and material is added regularly.  It is best to check both systems to get an idea of what's available.  However both systems are not exhaustive to what we have available in the archives.  When in doubt it is always best to send your inquiry to archives@trinity.edu.

• AtoM - Our current system, Access to Memory, is a finding aid database which provides collection level description along with collection inventories.   
• Archon - Our older system, Archon, provides folder level box inventories of material that have been transferred to the archives.  Most of our photos and audiovisual, along with alumni relations and public relations material remain on this catalog.

To broaden your search you may use Texas Archival Resources online, or TARO, to search participating archival repositories across the state of Texas.

• Digitized Campus Publications - This portal contains the digitized versions of the Trinitonian newspaper, Mirage yearbook, Course of Study Bulletins, and On Trinity Hill daily news bulletin.
  • Tutorial for Searching Preservica

    This tutorial will guide you through searching or browsing the digitized campus publications linked above.

• Trinity Websites - Archived webpages of Trinity and the world.
  • Trinity's Archive-IT Instance
  • Internet Archive
     
• Trinity University Historical Images - Historic images in the collection range in date throughout the University’s first 150 years.
   
• Portal to Texas History - A consortium of Texas archives’ digital resources.
   
• Texas Archive of the Moving Image - Digital moving image media from around the state.
  • TAMI's Main Page
  • TAMI's Trinity Collection

Appointments

Note: The Special Collections & Archives reading room is temporarily closed. Please email archives@trinity.edu to schedule an appointment to view materials. 

Special Collections and Archives is open through out the school year and by appointment.  Please check out our visit us page for up to date hours and information.

If this is your first time visiting with us, you need to register and review the reading room guidelines found on the page.

Research appointments can be made via the Google Scheduler app found here:

The appointment scheduler shows 15 minute slots, this is just to get you check in and situated.  You are able to stay longer to research.  Please be sure to list the material requested when you schedule your appointment.

Students engaging in archival research with university archivist.