Skip to Main Content

ARTH 3391: The Architecture of Libraries

Listed in this guide is information on primary and secondary source material to help you with your library architecture project.

University Archives in Special Collections and Archives

Special Collections and Archives collects, organizes, preserves, and makes available rare books, special collections, university records, and other archival material to the Trinity community and researchers at large. 

Within the unit, the University Archives documents the intellectual, cultural, and organizational history of the university since its founding in 1869. It recognizes the responsibility and ethical obligation to preserve official institutional records and the fundamental value of documenting our institutional history.  The archive stewards official and non-official administrative and departmental records, faculty and alumni papers, records of alumni and student organizations, university publications, architectural plans, photographs, and audiovisual material.

Provided is a listing of relevant material for the course's library architecture project.

Trinity Library History

To learn a little bit about the history of the library at Trinity University, a good article to check out is Jay B. Clark's Odyssey of a Library.  Reading through the Trinitonian can provide insight into the building progress of Storch and Coates libraries and may have features of library events and programs.  Former directors collections Theresa Simms and Robert Houze also provide important primary documentation about the development of the library as a department in the mid-to-late 20th century.

Pictured above is (from left to right) library assistant director Richard Werking with Elizabeth Huth Coates, and library director Robert Houze.

Digital Collections

  • Digitized Campus Publications
    This site contains the digitized versions of the Trinitonian newspaper (1919-1943 and 1959-present), Mirage yearbook (1912-1916, 1919-1942, 1944-1978, 1980-present), Course of Study Bulletins (1869-present), and On Trinity Hill daily news bulletin (1964-1972).

  • Trinity University Historical Images
    The historic images in the collection range in date throughout the University’s first 150 years.

Physical Archival Collections

Theresa Simms Papers
(Files of note for information on Storch Memorial Library)

  • Box 00-01  Folder 4: Simms, Theresa R.: Library: Building Specifications, 1950
  • Box 00-01  Folder 6: Simms, Theresa R.: Library: Fabrics
  • Box 00-01  Folder 7: Simms, Theresa R.: Library: George Storch Memorial Library, 1951-1955

Robert Houze Records
Robert Houze was the library director while the Coates Library was being constructed.  This collection is unprocessed and there is not an inventory to accompany the collection.  Please contact the university archivist if you need to inquire about material in this collection.

Building Ephemera 

  • Box 03-24  Folder 9: Elizabeth Huth Coates Library: Dedication: Guide, Invitation, and Mural Card, 1979
  • Box 03-24  Folder 10: Elizabeth Huth Coates Library: Dedication: Press Releases, 1979
  • Box 03-24  Folder 11: Elizabeth Huth Coates Library: Dedication: Trinity University Library-Mural Artist, Dedication Speaker, 1979
  • Box 91-03  Folder 5: Trinity University Buildings: Library: Elizabeth Coates Maddux Library, 1982
  • Box 91-03  Folder 6: Trinity University Buildings: Library: Dedication, 1979
  • Box 91-03  Folder 7: Trinity University Buildings: Library: Miscellaneous and Photos, undated
  • Box 91-03  Folder 8: Trinity University Buildings: Library: George Storch Memorial Library, 1952

University Public Relations Files

  • Box 87-07  Folder 5: Dedications: The Trinity University Library, 1979
  • Box 96-03  Folder 8: Public Relations: Printing Files: Library: Brochures, 1979-1985
  • Box 96-05  Folder 7: Library: Coates: Expansion, 1996-1997

Architectural and Construction Plans

UA0305 - Trinity University Architectural Collection

[Series] 4 - Coates Library

  • [Subseries] 1 - Coates Library Initial Construction, 1970s
    • UAAD-00018 - New Library Building Plans, 1977
    • UAAD-00020 - Trinity Library Stair Tower Studies, 1977
    • UAAD-00022 - Library Floor and Ceiling Plans, 1977
    • UAAD-00028 - Set of Site and Floor Plans for New Library, 1977
    • UAAD-00042 - Library Floor Plan Levels 1, 3-4 on matboards, 1970s
    • UAAD-00043 - Microfiche of Library Floor Plans, 1970s
    • UAAD-00089 - Trinity University Library Floor Plans, 1970s
    • UAAD-00045 - Library Conceptual Drawing on Board, Undated
    • UAAD-00077 - Trinity University Library Floor Plans Levels 3-4, 1979
    • UAAD-00078 - Trinity University Library Level 4 Floor Plans, 1978
    • UAAD-00079 - Trinity University Library 4th Floor IMS Plans, 1978
    • UAAD-00080 - Trinity University Library Level 4 Audiovisual Facilities Floor Plans, 1978
    • UAAD-00082 - Trinity University Library Final Plans "Opened Up" (Floor Plans, Site Plans), 1974
    • UAAD-00083 - Trinity University Library Level 3 Plans Electric Power, Smoke Detector Mounting, Computer Conduit, 1978
    • UAAD-00084 - Trinity University Library Floor and Site Plans, 1973
    • UAAD-00086 - Trinity Library Final Design, December 22, 1976
    • UAAD-00087 - New Library Mechanical Plans Levels 2-4, May 1977

 

  • [Subseries] 2 - Coates Library Expansion, 1990s
    • UAAD-00002 - Maddux Library Mechanical Plans, 1996
    • UAAD-00021 - Elizabeth Huth Coates Library Expansion Set, 1996
    • UAAD-00023 - Maddux Library Expansion, 1996
    • UAAD-00026 - Elizabeth Huth Coates/Maddux Library Expansion Poster Boards, 1995-1996
    • UAAD-00053 - Maddux Library Expansion Proposed Floor Plans with Preliminary Cost Estimate Letter, December 21, 1995- January 23, 1996
    • UAAD-00054 - Maddux Library Expansion Project Address, June 13, 1996

 

  • [Subseries] 3 - Miscellaneous Coates Library
    • UAAD-00029 - Library Second Floor Plans, 1982
    • UAAD-00044 - Library Stacks Layout Map, Undated
    • UAAD-00046 - Coates Library Floor Transparent Floor Plans on Vellum, Undated
    • UAAD-00049 - Instructional Media Services on matboard, Undated
    • UAAD-00076 - Telephone Outlet and Computer Terminal Provision Riser Diagrams, Undated
    • UAAD-00081 - Trinity University Library Level 2 Floor Plans, 1982
    • UAAD-00085 - Elizabeth Coates Maddux Library Level 2 Floor Plans, 1982
    • UAAD-00088 - Library Fire Detection and Sound Second Floor, August 1982
    • UAAD-00100 - Elizabeth M. Coates Library Interior Renovation Plans, 2002-2009

 

  • [Series] 7 - George Storch Memorial Building
    • UAAD-00025 - George Storch Memorial Library Floor Plans, Undated
    • UAAD-00069 - George Storch Memorial Library Concept and Model Photoprints, Undated
    • UAAD-00090 - Library: George Storch Memorial Library, Floor Plans, Undated
    • UAAD-00091 - Library: George Storch Memorial Library, Floor Plans, 1950

Photographs

  • Box 00-02 Folder 4: Buildings: Library.  Maddux
  • Box 00-02 Folder 7: Buildings: Interior, Library Storch
  • Box 00-02 Folder 8: Buildings: Interior, Library Staff
  • Box 02-07a Folder 4: Negatives: Buildings: Library
  • Box 03-06b Folder 29: Buildings: Storch Library: Dedication (George Storch photo included)
  • Box 03-06b Folder 30: Buildings: Storch Library (Now Storch Memorial)
  • Box 04-06a Folder 4: Campus Scenes: Buildings: Coates Library
  • Box 04-07a Folder 4: Buildings: Coates Library
  • Box 04-12 Folder 2: Campus Scenes: Buildings: Coates  Library
  • Box 05-48a Folder 11: Campus Scenes: Exterior: Buildings: Library:  Coates, 1996
  • Box 84-11b Folder 5: Trinity Library 110 Year Anniversary Poster, 1979
  • Box 85-03a Folder 2: Campus Scenes: Buildings: Library: Maddox
  • Box 85-03a Folder 3: Campus Scenes: Buildings: Library: Storch
  • Box 87-06a Folder 1: Coates Library
  • Box 87-08c Folder 2: CAMPUS SCENES: BUILDINGS: COATES LIBRARY
  • Box 88-10a Folder 4: Campus Scenes: Buildings: Library: Coates Library, 1997
  • Box 88-10a Folder 5: Campus Scenes: Buildings: Library: Storch Memorial Library, 1950s
  • Box 88-36 Folder 11: Campus Scenes: Buildings: Library: Elizabeth Coates Maddux Library, 1981
  • Box 89-20 Folder 4: Campus Scenes: Buildings: Library: George Storch
  • Box 89-20 Folder 5: Campus Scenes: Buildings: Library: Coates
  • Box 90-14a Folder 5: Campus Scenes: Buildings: Library:  Coates:  Negatives & Prints
  • Box 90-14a Folder 6: Campus Scenes: Buildings: Library: Coates: Special Collections, 1989
  • Box 90-14a Folder 8: Campus Scenes: Exterior Views: George Storch Memorial Library
  • Box 90-14c Folder 2: Special Events: Library:  George Storch Memorial Library & Education Center:  Education move, 1980
  • Box 90-23a Folder 6: Campus Scenes: Interior Views: Library Mural
  • Box 90-58 Folder 1: Skyline Campus (1979-1982): Coates Library: Pre-Mural, 1979 February
  • Box 90-58 Folder 2: Skyline Campus (1979-1982): Coates Library, 1979 March
  • Box 90-58 Folder 3: Skyline Campus (1979-1982): Coates Library: Homecoming, 1979 October
  • Box 97-10a Folder 9: Campus Scenes: Buildings: LIBRARY:  COATES, 1980s
  • Box 97-10a Folder 10: Campus Scenes: Buildings: LIBRARY:  COATES:  1st FL.
  • Box 97-10a Folder 11: Campus Scenes: Buildings: LIBRARY:  COATES:  Instructional Media Services

Audio Recordings