LibGuides: EDUC 1410: Urban Education: News and Journalism

Current News

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to a variety of news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, broadcast transcripts, journals. Includes major metro titles and the Express News archive.

New York Times
Major United States paper of record. If you hit a paywall using the NYT, make sure to turn on your access via Trinity's student/staff/faculty subscription. More info:
Activate your NYTimes access

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
It features news, business, and legal sources--including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
The Atlantic (1857 - present) This link opens in a new window
Provides news, literature, analysis, and opinion on a variety of topics: politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, and science. Current and historical coverage.

African American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries, by and for African Americans. Approximately 35 states represented.
Newspaper Archive This link opens in a new window
Provides family history, small-town events, world news and more. Trinity subscription includes Texas coverage.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to a variety of news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, broadcast transcripts, journals. Includes major metro titles and the Express News archive.
Chronicling America - Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable American newspapers from 1770-1963.
The Atlantic (1857 - present) This link opens in a new window
Provides news, literature, analysis, and opinion on a variety of topics: politics, foreign affairs, business and the economy, culture and the arts, technology, and science. Current and historical coverage.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times & Washington Post This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times and Washington Post; the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.

Hechinger Report
Access Notes: The Hechinger Report is a nonprofit journalism organization based out of Teachers College at Columbia University. They focus especially on inequality in schools.
Education Next
The Education Next website hosts a journal as well as provides independent education news coverage and policy recommendations. Their goal is to "presenting the facts as best they can be determined, giving voice (without fear or favor) to worthy research, sound ideas, and responsible arguments."
EdWeek
EdWeek is an education-focused journalistic outlet. Some of the content on the site linked above is free; if you encounter a paywall, the library also provides access to some articles through our databases. I would browse on the website above, for ease, and then copy and paste the article title you’re interested in into One Search to see if full-text access is available.
Edutopia
The digital content arm of an educational foundation, focuses on innovative and best practices in education.