Related Guide
Librarian
Coates Library
Click the flag to schedule an appointment with me by Google Calendar
Search Broadly
As you begin exploring your subject, keep your search terms broad, then narrow as needed. Glean additional keywords from useful or intriguing sources and fold them into your search strategy. Iterate as needed until you find what you need.
- One Search: basic search This link opens in a new windowStart with One Search to get a broad idea of what is available on your topic. Use this resource to find additional keywords to use when searching in other resources.
- Google ScholarUse Google Scholar to find sources, citing sources, and/or "search within citing works" to find related sources. Searches journal articles, white papers, student theses, book chapters, institutional reports, etc.
Search Specifically
Once you have a strong idea about the direction of your research, you may want to focus on specific disciplinary databases, thereby removing the clutter of a large, multidisciplinary database like OneSearch. Remember, you can always borrow books or articles from other libraries if Coates doesn't have what you need.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, film and teaching with an extensive collection of full text.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary, scholarly, full text journals covering the social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a comprehensive list of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World history except the United States and Canada. Subjects included are religion, anthropology, sociology, cultural studies, political science, the arts, law, education and genealogy.