Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Philosophy Reference
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Free to all readers, but unlike Wikipedia "each [SEP] entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research."
Gale Encyclopedia of Philosophy, 2nd Ed.
An English-language reference source for philosophy has been the cornerstone of the philosophy reference shelf. Lauded for its clear and accessible presentation of wide-ranging philosophical subjects, the Encyclopedia has earned its place as a first-stop resource for general readers, students, and educators.
Aesthetics Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by
An authoritative guide to aesthetics that features 600+ articles by more than 500 art historians, philosophers, and theorists. The full text of this reference work is searchable within Oxford Art Online.
Blackwell Guide to Aesthetics by
Call Number: BH39 .B556 2004
"Written in clear and accessible prose by an assembly of some of the most distinguished philosophers of art, these essays develop the themes, discuss the problems, and evaluate the arguments of the main topics in the field."
Oxford Music Online
Gateway to multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music, which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Oxford Handbook of Aesthetics by
Levinson has collected 48 essays on aesthetics, making this "the most comprehensive guide available to the theory, application, history, and future of the field." Check out the table of contents by clicking HERE