LibGuides: Music Subject Guide: Scores

Scores

Classical Scores Library: Volumes 1-3 This link opens in a new window
Includes material from Boosey and Hawkes and some from the University Music Editions microfilm series; and compositions from all periods from the Renaissance to the 21st century.

Online Scores

Brown University Library: Digital Sheet Music Collections
• African American Sheet Music, 1820-1920
• World War I Sheet Music
• Yiddish American Sheet Music
Brown University Library: Lincoln Sheet Music
This collection includes digitized scores from the McLellan Lincoln Collection at the John Hay Library; these pieces were written between 1859 and 1923.
Library of Congress Notated Music Collection
American sheet music, mostly from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. Filter your results by state, century, subject, or other aspects.
Sheet Music Consortium
The Sheet Music Consortium includes the digitized sheet music collections of over 20 libraries around the world. Some entries include links to sound recordings.
Eastman School of Music Digitized Scores
The search interface for the music collection in the University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music) digital repository. Many of the items are unique to the Sibley Library at the Eastman School of Music.
IMSLP - Petrucci Music Library
The Petrucci Music Library, also known as IMSLP (International Music Score Library Project), includes over 55,000 works.
IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana
An impressive collection of mostly American sheet music, much of it popular music from the 20th century.
more...less...
IN Harmony: Sheet Music from Indiana is a search and discovery system for accessing sheet music from the Indiana University Lilly Library, the Indiana State Library, the Indiana State Museum, and the Indiana Historical Society. Funded through a National Leadership Grant from the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS), IN Harmony features Indiana-related sheet music - sheet music by Indiana composers, arrangers, lyricists or publishers as well as sheet music about the state. The IN Harmony open source sheet music cataloging software is available at http://inharmonycat.sourceforge.net/.
You can search the entire collection of sheet music by entering a term in the search box in the top right corner.
Silent Film & Music Archive
Established in 2014, SFSMA is building a robust archive of music for silent cinema (c. 1895-1930) and related film technologies for research and performance. The archive includes sheet music for film, cue sheets, instruction manuals for film accompanists, and a bibliography of resources on silent film sound and music. All of the silent film music archived here is available to download for free. It can be used for scholarship and research, lectures, to accompany showings of silent films, as the basis for the creation of new scores for old or new movies, and a myriad of other projects calling for music from the silent era.
Neue Mozart-Ausgabe: Digitized Version
The purpose of this web site operated by the Internationale Stiftung Mozarteum in cooperation with the Packard Humanities Institute is to make Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's musical compositions widely and conveniently accessible to the public, for personal study and for educational and classroom use. Wholesale downloading or reuse of the contents of this website is prohibited under all circumstances, whether commercial or otherwise. The digitized version offers the musical text and the critical commentaries of the entire Neue Mozart-Ausgabe, edited by the Internationale Stiftung Mozart in cooperation with the Mozart cities of Augsburg, Salzburg, and Vienna.

Other Manuscript Sources

RISM (Répertoire International des Sources Musicales)
The Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) - International Inventory of Musical Sources - is an international, non-profit organization that aims to comprehensively document extant musical sources worldwide: manuscripts, printed music editions, writings on music theory, and libretti that are found in libraries, archives, churches, schools, and private collections. The RISM Catalog of Musical Sources contains over 1.2 million records and can be searched at no cost. RISM was founded in Paris in 1952 and is the largest and only global organization that documents written musical sources. RISM records what exists and where it can be found.