MUSC 3341: Music History I

This guide contains resources from your class sessions being held in Special Collections, including answers to some of your most commonly asked questions. 

For general library resources related to music and music history, check out the Music Subject Guide.  

Jump to: 

• How do I make an appointment to visit Special Collections? 
• How do I search the library catalog for items in Special Collections? 
• How do I cite material from Special Collections? 
• Where can I see a list of the items that we viewed in class? 
• Where can I watch videos that demonstrate the printing methods we discussed in class? 

Want to spend more time looking at the material from today's class, or need help with primary source research for this or another class? Special Collections is open Monday to Thursday from 1pm to 4pm, or by appointment. Click the button below to schedule your visit.   

Wondering how to search specifically for books/scores/recordings in Special Collections? We recommend using the "Books & Media" search on the library homepage. Follow the steps below. 

Step 1: Navigate to https://mill.trinity.edu/. This is a narrowed down version of the library catalog; it only contains physical resources in the building (books, DVDs, etc), ebooks, and journals/databases listed by title. It does not search for individual articles the way that the search on the library homepage does. 

Step 2: In the rightmost dropdown menu, limit your search results to "Special Collections." 

Step 3: Searching by keyword is the best place to start. This keyword might be the name of a specific composer (ie Beethoven), a format (ie vocal scores), a geographic area (ie Texas music), or a style (ie folk songs). 

Are you wondering how you would go about citing an item from Special Collections, if you were to use it in an essay or other research project? The examples below are in Chicago Style, but the general rules apply for other citation styles. Check with your professor which style you should use in your assignment, and contact your librarian if you need help! 

Citing books: 
The citation for a book in Special Collections is formatted the same way you would cite a book or periodical in the rest of the library. 

Bibliography: Lastname, Firstname. Title. Publisher, year. 

example: Hoeckele, Kim. Rosy-Crimson. Small Editions, 2022. 

Footnote: Firstname Lastname, Title (Publisher, year), page. 

example: Kim Hoeckele, Rosy-Crimson (Small Editions, 2022), 13. 

Citing archives: 
The finding aid for an archival collection will usually include a suggested citation. Your footnote should include as much information as possible so that a future researcher can retrace your steps, while the bibliography/works cited page only needs to list the collection and location. 

Bibliography: Collection Name. Name of Repository, Location of repository. 

example: Jean Rosow Sketches of Trinity University. UA0309. Coates Library Special Collections and Archives. Trinity University. 

Notes: Title or description of item, date, box number, folder number, Collection Name, Name of Repository, Location of Repository. 

example: Sketch of Magic Stones sculpture, 1987, box 1, folder 14, UA0309 Jean Rosow Sketches of Trinity University, Coates Library Special Collections and Archives, Trinity University. 

Citing artwork: 
When writing about a particular piece of artwork, you may find it more appropriate to cite the piece itself and not the publication or website where you found it. This is particularly true if it is a piece of artwork that has not been published in a book, such as one that is currently on display in a museum. 

Bibliography: Artist Lastname, Firstname. Title of Artwork. Date created. Medium, Dimensions. Source. 

example: Sicner, James. Man's Evolving Images: In Printing and Writing. 1983. Collage mural, 15' x 80'. Trinity University Coates Library, San Antonio, Texas.

Notes: Artist Name, Title of Artwork, Date created, medium, dimensions, source. 

example: James Sicner, Man's Evolving Images: In Printing and Writing, 1983, collage mural, 15' x 80', Trinity University Coates Library, San Antonio, Texas.