Librarian
Starting Point: the Top Resources for HIST 4450
The great thing about research related to policy is that many of your sources are in the public domain, and available online. But sometimes that poses its own challenges--too many databases to search can be overwhelming. These are a few top resources that you should consult as part of your research:
For more information on finding Government Documents, including how to cite them, see our guide.
- The National Security ArchiveThe National Security Archive’s holdings include numerous donations of declassified documents from scholars and journalists, as well as the results of 35+ years of Freedom of Information Act requests.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Includes declassified documents, compiled by top scholars and experts, covers the most critical world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from post World War II through the 21st century.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) This link opens in a new window
An archive of 20th Century news from around the world.
- Foreign Relations of the United StatesFRUS presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. An invaluable source of primary documents.
- ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
The US Serial Set is a collection of primary source material on the people, issues and events of American history and politics.
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text, declassified documents from U.S. government agencies, including the CIA, FBI, White House, State Department, and others.
- Wilson Center Digital ArchiveThe Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.