HIST 4420: Global Food History

Containing over 5000 menus from around the world.

Vintage cocktail books from the Exposition Universelle des Vins et Spirituex. A museum dedicated to the History of Wines and Spirits.

Located at MichiganState, the Feeding America project has created an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.

Digitized books on cooking, gastronomy, food production, etc.

HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines from Cornell University. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available.

The Cookbook and Home Economics Collection includes books from the Young Research Library Department of Special Collections at UCLA, The Bancroft Library at The University of California, Berkeley, and the Prelinger Library. These fascinating books take us back to an America in the early decades of the 20th century covering topics on cookery, textiles, family and home, budgeting, domestic sciences, and many other delightful topics.

The Louisiana Research Collection (LaRC) preserves extensive holdings documenting Louisiana's food and cooking culture, including several thousand menus, restaurant brochures, bar flyers, and other items essential for understanding the cuisine and food industry of the state.

From the University of Nevada Las Vegas, this digital collection contains nearly 1700 restaurant and event menus.

The National Agricultural Library Digital Collections (NALDC) offers an easy access to collection materials available in digital format. The NALDC offers rich searching, browsing and retrieval of digital materials and collections, and provides reliable, long-term online access to selected publications. NALDC includes historical publications, U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) research, and more.

The New York Public Library digital menu collection contains over 18,000 items.

University of Iowa digital collectoin of handwritten cookbooks, circa 1600s-1960s, documenting culinary history in America and Europe and how tastes have changed over the years.

The University of Iowa collection includes more than 4,000 promotional recipe pamphlets, published mainly by food and appliance manufacturers and trade associations. Dating from the late 19th century to the present, this advertising ephemera reflects the evolution of the modern American diet.

UTSA’s Mexican Cookbook Collection is comprised of more than 2,000 cookbooks, from 1789 to the present, with most books dating from 1940-2000. In addition to broad general coverage, the collection includes concentrations in the areas of regional cooking, healthy and vegetarian recipes, corporate advertising cookbooks, and manuscript recipe books.

SCA is home to the University Archives, which collects materials related to Trinity's history, including student organizations, as well as rare books and manuscripts on a wide range of topics. Not everything in the archives is listed online--contact us at archives@trinity.edu for help with your search.

UTSA has the largest collection of local history materials, including photographs, personal papers, business records, and oral histories. They also hold one of the largest collections of Mexican cookbooks in the world.

The Texana & Genealogy Department at San Antonio Public Library's Central Branch collects material related to local history, with a particular emphasis on genealogical research. They are not open to the public at this time, but are available to assist via email.

SAAACAM works to collect, preserve and share the cultural heritage of African Americans in the San Antonio region.

Located at UT Austin, the Benson is one of the leading collections in the world on Latin American studies.

Located at UT Austin, materials here focus on American history, with a particular emphasis on the history of Texas and the South.

Located at UT Austin, the Ransom Center is one of the preeminent repositories for humanities research in the world.