Special Collections Librarian
Colleen Hoelscher
Contact:
Coates Library 100H
Schedule an appointment!
Schedule an appointment!
Subjects: Museum Studies, Special Collections and Archives
Introduction
This guide contains resources for your class visit to Special Collections and Archives.
But first, what are special collections? What are archives?
Special collections is the term typically used to describe distinctive materials in the library collection: manuscripts, rare books, valuable materials, and archives. Archives are the documentary evidence (primary sources) of people and institution in the past. The archives is the place where archives are collected. Archives are an invaluable source for historians doing research.
- Class PresentationPDF version of the presentation from class
Reading a Finding Aid
Not seeing the embedded tutorial? Click here to open in a new window.
Finding Aids
Before our class session, review the finding aids listed below. Identify which collections you find the most interesting.
- Bill Case and Ann Walker Theater CollectionCollection of playbills and theater programs collected by Bill Case and Ann Walker of San Antonio. A majority of the collection comes from productions staged in New York City; some items represent productions in San Antonio, Chicago, and London.
- Claude & ZerNona Black PapersThe personal papers of the Reverend Claude William Black, Jr. and his wife, ZerNona Stewart Black, document their civil rights, community activism, and Baptist ministry activities, predominantly from the 1940s through 2008, in San Antonio, TX.
- Claudius Belk Military ScrapbookScrapbook of Claudius Earle Belk's first few years in military service. Includes a log of major events in his life, as well as world events, from 1938 to 1939; photographs of his family and home; photographs, postcards, and real photographic postcards of locations during his training on Parris Island and deployment on the USS Yorktown; other photographs and postcards collected by Belk, predominantly of military subjects; and two maps of his travels.
- David Matias PapersCollection contains drafts of poetry and plays written by David Matias, an alumnus of Trinity University who died of AIDS at an early age. Much of his work deals with issues of identity, coming out, and his illness. There are also three video recordings: a performance of one play, a poetry reading, and a guest lecture at a Harvard University class.
- Gloria Primera Collection of 1977 National Women's Conference MemorabiliaCollection of memorabilia related to the 1977 National Women's Conference collected by Gloria Primera. Ms. Primera, a resident of San Antonio, was one of the runners who participated in the torch relay leading up to the convention. This collection consists of news clippings, print ephemera, her torch bearer shirt, and buttons from the convention.
- Marjorie McGown Collection of San Antonio EphemeraThe Marjorie McGown Collection consists largely of ephemera from San Antonio society and cultural events between 1909 and 1970, including materials related to the American Red Cross during World War I, the 1931 San Antonio Bicentennial, the Junior League, the Order of the Alamo, art exhibits, ballets, musical events, operas, and plays.
- Mary Catherine Bradley Gillespie JournalsThis collection consists of two journals belonging to Mary Catherine Bradley Gillespie, the first female faculty member at Trinity University. These journals primarily contain poetry written between 1853 and 1889; other entries include notes about sermons, Sunday School lessons, family members, and music. The collection also includes a handwritten transcription by Gillespie's grandson, William Bulford Adamson, and a printed copy of the hardcover book issued by the Trinity University Alumni Association in 1972.
- Maud Boyce Farrar Memoirs"The Saga of Our Ancestry: Being a Series of Sketches of the Lives of Pioneer Texans, Written for the Information and Pleasure of their Descendants by Maud Boyce Farrar, Waxahachie, Texas, 1934."
- Sammye Johnson Collection of Premiere Magazine IssuesA collection of premiere (first) issues of magazines published between 1980 and 2014 assembled by Professor Emerita Sammye Johnson. The collection includes well-known established magazines as well as one-hit wonders that lasted a few issues or a few years. The collection reflects the changing interests of Americans, as well as the issues and concerns that were shaping their economic, political, social attitudes.
- San Antonio Female College CollectionThis collection contains material from the institution's board of trustees and registrar's office. Publications, ephemeral materials and alumni contributions complete this collection.
- Trinity University Home Economics DepartmentTrinity University offered a major in Home Economics from 1917 through 1982. This collection includes records and scrapbooks from the department.
- Trinity University ROTC ProgramThis collection contains materials relating to the history of the Reserve Officers' Training Corps (ROTC) Program and Department of Military Science at Trinity University. It includes ephemera, newsletters, realia, scrapbooks, and other items.
- Ursula Lauderdale PapersThis collection contains material from Ursula Lauderdale, a Texas artist and former art instructor at Trinity University. It includes a small scrapbook, photographs, correspondence, documents, and news clippings. The scrapbook, clippings, membership cards, and many of the photographs help to illustrate her work as an artist during the early 20th century.
- Violet Alice Haynes JournalA commonplace book used by Violet Alice Haynes Bowles (1873-1953), in which she recorded poetry, correspondence, genealogical research, and other notes. Much of the contents reflects her views as a member of the Daughters of the Confederacy.
Returning to Special Collections
Want to spend more time looking at the material from today's class, or need help with primary source research for this or another class? Special Collections is open Monday to Thursday from 1pm to 4pm, or by appointment. Click the button below to schedule your visit.