HIST 1371: African-American Experience Since 1877

This subject portal highlights records of Federal agencies and collections that relate to Black life during the World War I Era. The selected records contain information on various topics, which include work, military involvement, arts & intellectuals, racial violence and the Great Migration. It also includes records on several individuals, including Ida B. Wells-Barnett, W. E. B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey, Paul Robeson, Mary Church Terrell and Jack Johnson.

This digital library is drawn from the vast collections of the Library of Congress. To find sources for your brief, search "From Slavery to Freedom" and "Slaves and the Courts".

DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Includes many primary sources and other public domain materials.

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

This gateway leads to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, the site is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library.

"The Texas Slavery Project examines the spread of American slavery into the borderlands between the United States and Mexico in the decades between 1820 and 1850." Primary sources are grouped into their own category; click the link in the upper-right to browse by kind (e.g., laws, personal correspondence, etc.)

Duke University's Ad Access contains over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories: Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. You can find more ads at an archive maintained by Reed College anthropologist, Charlene Makley.

These books are drawn from a bibliography created by Augusta Braxton Baker, an African-American librarian whose work brought to light the harmful stereotypes and depictions that many children's' books contained.

The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from dozens of libraries, archives, museums, and public broadcasters.

The personal papers of the Reverend Claude William Black, Jr. and his wife, ZerNona Stewart Black document their civil rights, community activism, and Baptist ministry activities, predominantly from the 1940s through 2008, in San Antonio, TX. Included are: audiocassettes, reel tape, videocassettes and movie film of events, sermons, and addresses; handwritten sermons and accompanying notes; annotated periodicals, including rare and specialized journals such The Crisis (NAACP), African Forum, and other African American publications; scrapbooks of memorabilia, ephemera and news clippings, about San Antonio and national events; communications with local and national leaders, including A. Philip Randolph and Martin Luther King, Jr.; photographs and slides of community and personal events; awards, certificates and governmental proclamations; appointment books and daybooks; extensive records related to activities of Mount Zion First Baptist Church and additional organizations.

The mission of the Cornell Hip Hop Collection is to collect and make accessible the historical artifacts of Hip Hop culture and to ensure their preservation for future generations. A few highlights include the archives of early Hip Hop photographers Joe Conzo, Jr. and Ernie Paniccioli; Buddy “The Flyer King” Esquire; and pioneering graffiti artist Richie “SEEN” Mirando.

This digital exhibit commemorates Robinson's achievements and describes some aspects of the color line's development and the Negro Leagues. Library staff selected and reproduced approximately 30 items created between the 1860s and the 1960s, including manuscripts, photographs, ephemera, and books. Narrative information drawn from encyclopedia articles, published biographies, and baseball histories established the context for understanding the original materials.

The design of this website betrays its age (2001!); nevertheless, the site contains many valuable primary sources on the life of Malcolm X, including FBI surveillance reports, newspaper coverage of his organizing activities, and transcriptions of his speeches.

Created by Lakisha Odlum of the NYC Department of Education, this primary source set includes many documents explaining the exodus of African Americans from the South to cities in the Northern and Midwestern states.

The collection comprises 6 short subjects, 9 features, and a set of newsreels, all produced between 1935 and 1956. The African-American films include comedies, dramas, news, and musical performances, and were made outside the Hollywood system by pioneering directors and producers such as Oscar Micheaux, Spencer Williams, and William Alexander.

Includes over 100,000 items of correspondence (more than three quarters of the papers), speeches, articles, newspaper columns, nonfiction books, research materials, book reviews, pamphlets and leaflets, petitions, novels, essays, forewords, student papers, manuscripts of pageants, plays, short stories and fables, poetry, photographs, newspaper clippings, memorabilia, videotapes, audiotapes, and miscellaneous materials.