Ask a Librarian
Coates Library
Click the flag to schedule an appointment with me by Google Calendar
Get Started
This guide includes the "best bets" for resources to consult as you to begin or continue your research on literature and writing topics.
If you have any questions or would like a specific answer to your specific question, contact your librarian!
Databases for Literary Scholarship
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, film and teaching with an extensive collection of full text.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals published by Carnegie Mellon, Duke, Indiana, Johns Hopkins, MIT, Oxford and Penn State university presses, as well as the presses of the Universities of Hawaii, Texas, and Wisconsin.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a comprehensive list of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
Other Helpful Sources
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Contains definitions for most of the words in the English language. It also provides information on the words origins and quotations showing the range of meanings from the time they entered the language to the present.
- Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This is a scholarly and popular sources collection; it spans the entire spectrum of film and television studies.