Assembled by librarian Susan Birkenseer, this guide "highlights a diverse collection of free websites of primary sources for the study of the war. These websites include digitized newspaper archives for both the Union and Confederate sides of the struggle, collections of letters and diaries, digitized photographs, maps, and official records and dispatches from the battlefields."
APS Online includes digital images of American magazines and journals dating from 1741 to 1900. The digitized images allow researchers to see the original typography, drawings, graphics, etc., as originally published.
The collection includes some 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, including more than 6,000 pages of previously unpublished materials. Drawn from more than 600 sources, including journal articles, pamphlets, newsletters, monographs, and conference proceedings, much of the material is in copyright. Represented are all age groups and life stages, all ethnicities, many geographical regions, the famous and the not so famous. It includes some 300 biographies to enhance the use of the database.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive provides access to digitize primary sources related to the debates over slavery and abolition from 1490 to 1896. The database contains 1.5 million pages, including more than 7,000 books and pamphlets, 80 newspaper and periodical titles, and a dozen major manuscript collections.
Documentation of the forced migration of Africans across the Atlantic Ocean from 1595 to 1866. Voyage information (not complete for every voyage) includes ships' owners, captains, date and port of departure and arrival, number of enslaved Africans embarked and disembarked, number of deaths, and vessels.
This rich collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news-feeds covering the region; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; audio and video; and much more. World Scholar covers topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology.