Librarian
Primary Source Databases
- Latin American and Caribbean History This link opens in a new window
A range of content for the region, providing opportunities for research into issues and events in contemporary Latin American and Caribbean history, as well as historical perspective back to the colonial period.
- Digital Library of the CaribbeanThe Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean. Access over 4 million pages of newspapers, maps, photographs, and more.
- Cuban Heritage Collection - Digital CollectionSelected archival and manuscript materials, books, and periodicals held by the Cuban Heritage Collection have been digitized and are available online through the University of Miami Libraries Digital Collections portal. Resources in a variety of formats have been digitally reformatted, with an emphasis on photographs and other visual resources.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowYou're probably familiar with using JSTOR to find secondary sources, but it can also be a great way to find primary sources by searching images or browsing their curated collections.
Use Google to Find Other Archives
Like any online search, it's important to use the right keywords when searching for primary sources. While "primary sources" is the term that we use in class, it is often not the term used on the websites where libraries and museums share their digitized items.
Other search terms to try might include:
|
primary sources archives special collection library or museum |
exhibition digital exhibit digital collection papers or manuscripts |
teacher's kit curriculum lesson plans learning objects |
You can also search for sources in specific formats, such as:
|
account ledgers acts archival footage audio clippings correspondence diaries deeds ephemera film / video financial records govt. publications handbooks |
invitations lab notebooks legal records legislation letters maps memoirs menus military orders newspapers oral histories pamphlets paintings |
photographs polls posters press releases prints reports scrapbooks sermons speeches telegraphs treaties tickets wills |
Adapted from a handout by Robin M. Katz