Primary Sources Online
- African Activist ArchiveThe African Activist Archive preserves and disseminates the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s. The website includes: pamphlets, newsletters, leaflets, buttons, posters, T-shirts, photographs, and audio and video recordings.
- Africa Online Digital LibraryAODL is a a portal to multimedia collections about Africa, including primary sources on wide variety of topics such as Islam in Africa, colonial histories, oral narratives, slave biographies, and much more.
- Africa South of the SaharaAn annotated directory of online resources about Africa curated by Karen Fung of the Stanford Libraries. Many links are now broken, but you may be able to use the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine to discover archived content.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)DPLA brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. Includes many primary sources and other public domain materials.
- Hathi TrustHathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive provides access to primary sources in the public domain.
- Struggles for Freedom: Southern AfricaStruggles for Freedom: Southern Africa brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
Primary sources in the library catalog
Find primary sources in the library catalog or WorldCat.
- Using an advanced search, change the field to subject and enter "sources" as pictured below.
- You can also search for particular kinds of sources, including: correspondence, diaries, early works to 1800, interviews, pamphlets, periodicals, personal narratives, and speeches.
- Read the bibliographies of secondary sources! Follow the road of references laid down by other historians.
