Skip to Main Content

Biology Subject Guide

This guide will help you locate information in the biological sciences. The materials may also be of use for research in the related areas of environmental science and engineering, biotechnology, medicine, and agriculture.

Internet Sites

Human Genome Research Institute - This U.S. government site provides excellent general research information on genetics and bioethics.

PLANTS National Database Home Page - "The PLANTS Database provides a single source of standardized information about plants. PLANTS provides standardized plant names, symbols and other plant attribute information."

American Society for Microbiology - The ASM is the oldest and largest single life science membership organization in the world with over 40,000 members worldwide. This site gives full information about the organization and its activities. The section on "ASM Programs, Products, and Services" allows access to browse current tables of contents of the twelve journals published by ASM.

Darwin Online - "This site contains Darwin's complete publications, 20,000 private papers, the largest Darwin bibliography, manuscript catalogue and hundreds of supplementary works: specimens, biographies, obituaries, reviews, reference works and much more."

NatureServe Explorer - A resource for information on 100,000 species and ecosystems in the Americas.

Visualization and Animation

These last two sites are samples of the use of 3D visualization and animation in modern biological teaching. You may need to load special helper applications for the sound and movies that are used in many of these productions.

Biology in Motion -- provides interactive education activities such as Evolution Lab, to investigate how natural selection works, and a Cell Division exercise.  Useful for teachers working in classrooms at the elementary or secondary level.

LBL IYTG Whole Frog Project -- from the Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory