Librarian
Coates Library
Click the flag to schedule an appointment with me by Google Calendar
Schedule a Research Consultation
Secondary Sources
Secondary sources and other supporting research materials provide an interpretation or analysis of historical topics, figures, and/or events and build context around the primary sources you are using for your research. There are many kinds of secondary sources, but some of the most common for academic research are scholarly books and e-books and peer-reviewed journal articles.
Databases and Journals
- Global Food HistoryGlobal Food History is a peer-reviewed journal about food and drink using history as the primary disciplinary perspective. It also includes interdisciplinary scholarship considering the relationship between food history and food studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a comprehensive list of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Provides access to journals with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly, and creative thought.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World history except the United States and Canada. Subjects included are religion, anthropology, sociology, cultural studies, political science, the arts, law, education and genealogy.
- Feast AfriqueA digital library of 240+ books and collections. Feast Afrique is a celebration of West African culinary heritage curated by Ozoz Sokoh.
Finding Books
You can quickly determine whether a book is likely to help you by skimming the table of contents and looking up keywords in the index to locate relevant pages. Use the bibliography to locate related books or articles.
- Coates Library CatalogYou know it, you love it: the Coates catalog. Be sure to check the whole entry for additional searching help in the form of subject keywords, Google Books previews, tables of contents, etc.
- WorldCatWorldCat is a catalog of library holdings worldwide. When Trinity doesn't have a book you need, you can send an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request straight from WorldCat.
- Google BooksGoogle Books often provides full-page previews based on your keywords. Useful when looking for page-level references. Use quotation marks to find exact phrases, e.g., "Illegitimi non carborundum".
Websites
- The SifterThe Sifter is a free website for searching and comparing authors, their works and the details of their works regarding food and related topics around the world and throughout history.