Live Web Editions
Live Web Editions (Login Required)
The Chronicle of Higher Education
Click the link above and log in with your Trinity credentials. You may also create an account at Chronicle.com using your Trinity email for personalized features. To confirm access, look for “Site license access provided by Trinity University” at the top left of the page.
The Economist
Click the link above and log in with your Trinity credentials. Do not sign in directly on Economist.com — full access is indicated by a red box at the end of each article. If you see a “you must subscribe” message, you are not authenticated. Our subscription excludes audio editions and apps. Historical archive (1843–2015) is available separately.
Financial Times
New users must register using their Trinity email via the special FT link above. Once activated, you can sign in at FT.com on any device and use personalization features like myFT. FT.com apps are available for iOS and Android at apps.ft.com. Registration is only required once.
The New York Times
Visit AccessNYT.com, find Trinity University, and create an account with your Trinity email. Faculty/staff must reactivate annually; students keep access until graduation. After setup, sign in directly at nytimes.com with your Trinity email and personal password. Historical archive (1851–recent) is available with a 3-month embargo. Returning faculty/staff can reactivate through AccessNYT.com.
The Atlantic
Click the link above and log in with your Trinity credentials. Includes all articles and digital archives since 1857. App access is not included. First-time users may need to follow on-screen prompts before reading.
Wall Street Journal (starting Sept 1, 2025)
Access begins September 1, 2025. Instructions will be added once the subscription is active.
Local Newspapers Online
LOCAL NEWSPAPERS
San Antonio Express-News (1867–present)
Offers a uniquely Lone Star perspective on local, state, national, and international news.
Trinity University Publications
Digitized back files, 1869–2017.
National Newspapers
Access World News
Resource covering topics related to business, communications, economics, education, political science, social sciences and more from a variety of news media including newspapers, newswires, blogs, broadcast transcripts, journals.
Newspaper Source Plus
Offers cover-to-cover full text for hundreds of national, international, and regional newspapers. In addition, television and radio news transcripts from major networks are available.
New York Times – current access
Access to the electronic version of the newspaper: nytimes.com
Nexis Uni
Features news, business, and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Regional Business News
Content is provided by leading publishers in business news including The Washington Post, PR Newswire US and more. Key resources include newspapers, radio and television news transcripts, trade publications, magazines and newswires.
Wall Street Journal – digitized 2008–recent (3 month embargo)
The full-page images of this digitized newspaper provide genealogists, researchers and scholars with cover-to-cover access to recent newspaper content.
Historic Newspapers draft
African American Newspapers
Newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.
African Newspapers
Collection of historical newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda, and Zimbabwe.
Chronicling America – Historic American Newspapers
Searchable American newspapers from 1770–1963.
Economist Historical Archive (1843–2015)
Covers 1843–present excluding the last four years.
New York Times – digitized 1851–recent (3 month embargo)
Provides access to the digitized historical content in PDF format starting in 1851.
Newspaper Archive
Provides family history, small-town events, world news and more.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times & Washington Post
This database offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times and Washington Post; the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in downloadable PDF files.
Times Digital Archive (1785–2014)
A historical newspaper that supports areas of interest including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.
Washington Post (1877–2007)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, searchable first-hand accounts and coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.