HIST 4460: North American Borderlands, 1500-1900

Includes 67 portraits and 48 artifacts that provide a tangible, physical connection to the individuals who witnessed the Revolutionary era.

This companion website is divided into three parts according to John Adams’s scheme: “Politicks and War,” “Mathematicks and Philosophy,” and “Painting, Poetry and Porcelaine." It consists of artifacts, manuscripts, medals, paintings, engravings, furniture, clothing, and early publications.

Winterthur (pronounced “winter-tour”) is the premier museum of American decorative arts, with an unparalleled collection of nearly 90,000 objects made or used in America between about 1640 and 1860.

A database of graphic representations of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego, drawn entirely from primary sources printed or created between 1492 and ca. 1825.

Commemorates the 150th anniversary of the Civil War and the presidency of Abraham Lincoln with a series of exhibitions that complement the museum's installation of Civil War portraits and related objects.

Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.

Offers a unique visual resource documenting the Lower Rio Grande Valley during the early 1900s, including the Mexican Revolution and WWI.

Over 350 prints and drawings of Native Americans spanning 400 years.

47,000 catalog entries covering the whole continent from the Arctic, through Plains, Eastern Woodlands, Plateau, Southwest and California to the Southeast.

This album of photographs, assembled in 1876 from images in the collection of the United States Geological and Geographical Survey of the Territories, consists primarily of portraiture of male delegates to the United States with occasional images of women and children.

This collection contains many excellent examples of traditional Ojibwa objects such as bandolier bags, moccasins, belts and bands.

Presents a vivid picture of Black life and American racial attitudes from the 1850s to the 1940s; the Collection includes photographs in all formats, including hundreds of daguerreotypes and tintype portraits documenting both known and unknown African American subjects.

Over 250,000 ethnographic and archaeological objects representing the peoples of the Americas, Africa, Asia, Europe and the Pacific Islands have been digitally imaged and are accessible online.

DAACS helps scholars from different disciplines use archaeological evidence to advance our historical understanding of the slave-based society that evolved in the Atlantic World (the Chesapeake, Carolinas, and Caribbean) during the colonial and ante-bellum periods.

The images in Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Early African Diaspora have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery.